radiantallyvibes cross-posted this post in Portrait Photography 2 months ago


Self Portraits in Black and White

The other night, I was bored at home and thought I would take some self-portraits to experiment with lighting. While I almost never shoot in black and white, as I prefer more vivid and true-to-life photos, I thought this would be a great time to try black and white photos for the first time with this camera. In the end, I was quite happy with the results, and it was a fun way to spend an evening when I would have otherwise 'wasted' time watching Netflix or browsing social media.

If you're like me and sometimes bored at home, I recommend spending some time on your hobbies and trying things you otherwise wouldn't have. Since I'm always out and about, I rarely take photos inside, and while I had no idea what the results would look like (and they're far from the best black-and-white photos out there!), it was a fun experiment, and I'm now a lot more interested in experimenting with indoor lighting to try and improve both my photography and modelling.

In fact, this was such a fun way to spend an hour (or two if you include editing) that I think I will try more indoor photos again tomorrow or at least sometime later in the week. It's certainly a better way to spend my time than on social media, and so I can't wait to take more photos indoors!

What have your experiences been trying out a new style of photos? Furthermore, how do you find inspiration when you're otherwise bored and not sure how to spend your time?