You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: is this Jazz?

in Musicforlife 🎶3 years ago (edited)

There are many aspects to be taking into account to consider whether a piece of music is jazz or not according to what kind of style it could belong to (like traditional jazz, swing, bebop, hard bop, post-bop, avant-garde, free jazz, jazz fusion or smooth jazz basically), but probably the most important one is if it contains improvisation in some way or another. Since your composition is just arranged without any solo, I don't think it can be labeled as jazz. However, it's nice and very well done, so congratulations anyway. If you like jazz music, I invite you to visit my blog with more than 2000 posts about this genre. Have a great weekend! 😀

Sort:  

hey there man, thank you very much for the information! my improvisation background is on blues, I didn't knew there was so many sub genres of jazz, awesome!, well the sax part of the music was made it improvising, thank you for your advice about labeling. :D I will do more research about each genre what you said is a good guide to start for sure ^^


Posted via MusicForLife.io