Bass In This Big Bands Day Before The Concert Rehearsal 03282022

img_7919.gif


Today's is the rehearsal before the first concert.


march_28_img_8880.jpg



Yup, the concert is tomorrow. It's out doors. Wind will be a factor. Insects might appear, but not usually. Wind is the biggest distraction. It's raining now, but
it should be gone tomorrow.


Lol, rain is cute in SoCal.



img_7902.gif

I’m on my way to rehearsal. I’m glad we are inside now. Lots of rain at the moment. It’s SoCal’s interpretation of winter. Wife is confused and I’m burned up.

I drive. I forgot my coffee.

img_7788.heic

Too late to turn around.
img_7787.heic

Me get sad.
img_7774.heic

I arrive, pay for parking and check out muh curb.

img_7803.heic

Ahh, yes. I like it. They did well. I am honored. Looks very prudent. 👍
Fuck their paid parking. Wanna raise funds? Start weekly bingo.

Music

It never feels good anymore. Often too loud. The drum's senseless chatter is annoying. Hard snare is not always a good thing. I leave the room and step outside to tune my electric bass and rest my ears.

Uploading Tetrahedroseph.GIF #74



Band members walks up to me and say he misses the old drummer. We feel sorry for ourselves and cry together.

All is well. Lots of drummers suck. Nobody died. We had it good for a while.

I tell him it’s not healthy to endure too much of this. It sounds like I’m talking about my love life, but I’m talking about the musicianship coming from the drums.

Another veteran band member appears and echoes similar concerns.

Rehearsal starts, songs go buy and I explain things to the faker. I point out the short and long notes the instrument can make.
I tell the “experienced” drummer that his snare is too loud… it’s always to loud. The director eventually stops and repeats my comment about the snare and also mentions the lack of dynamics. Poor dynamic control (volume) is a sign of poor musicianship. Let’s be better.

I won’t endure a COVID test for this band.

img_7909.gif

Here we have the official setlist. Not much change from the songs we've been rehearsing.

bb_setlist_img_8882.jpg

Wish list:

I wish I felt just a little more prepared.
I wish Phil was the drummer.
I wish I had felt the freedom to hang.
I wish the current drummer didn't drag.
I wish Nathan was the only drummer.
I wish the other person would stop faking drums and play percussion properly.

rain_img_8881.jpg


Instruments

Remember the GoPro mount that I Buzzed about a few weeks ago?
https://peakd.com/hive-193084/@steemseph/x16e753is5jr7p4zce4tmc or https://ecency.com/hive-193084/@steemseph/x16e753is5jr7p4zce4tmc?

gopr0048.jpg

gopr0049.jpg

I used the GoPro at this rehearsal. I like how it balances the bass and that is sad. The bass shouldn't need it, but anyways... I took these pictures with my bass counterweight/GoPro.


Video

It's not good. I'm not even talking about the playing anymore. The audio is bad because I have the wrong case for the GoPro. It's in a sealed case.
I now realize that pieces of this little GoPro kit I've been reacquainted with are missing. Oh well, i'll buy something.

I took video at the rehearsal, but it's not that great. I'm still gonna try at the concert. For this post I offer a few screen shots of the rehearsal video. We look keen. Everything is swell.

screen_shot_2022_04_11_at_2.16.06_pm.png

screen_shot_2022_04_11_at_2.23.58_pm.png

screen_shot_2022_04_11_at_2.23.25_pm.png

screen_shot_2022_04_11_at_2.22.42_pm.png

screen_shot_2022_04_11_at_2.25.27_pm.png



I plan to edit a video of the concert footage. It's gonna be the same bass view and low quality audio. I promised @grapthar and myself a performance video of a cool Bill Withers tune.

We talked about the song in a previous conversation and then suddenly muh big band has it on the set list. Small world... https://ecency.com/music/@steemseph/re-grapthar-2022328t14292218z

INSTANT UPDATE!

Video is DONE!

screen_shot_2022_04_14_at_8.39.20_pm.png


Check it out here:

Yikes, that was rough. We had to stop the song for some reason... who was lost? Something about the ending of that song throws people off. Maybe it's the section of 8 measures repeated and then immediately followed by another triple repeat section that sounds similar. It's like a written vamp.



Take a look at the previous post here:
https://ecency.com/hive-175836/@steemseph/bass-in-this-place-big or
https://peakd.com/hive-175836/@steemseph/bass-in-this-place-big or
https://hive.blog/hive-175836/@steemseph/bass-in-this-place-big

tetrahedroseph_pogodoorsdvsthanks.gif

Thanks for reading and supporting. Gas is expensive and I appreciate the upvotes. I honor your generosity by learning more music.

img_6575.jpg

Sort:  

@steemseph you will do great in the concert. It's between "Just the two of us", !1UP shhhhh

Nice music. In the video, you were focused on music, not the camera angles. BRAVO


Posted via MusicForLife.io

Thanks @dlmmqb! Yes, I did better at the concert. :)
True, I was focused on the music, the wind, the drumbs, and lots of other stuff.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @kunschj.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks for the boost @kunschj !

My pleasure.

Nice, despite the limitations of the camera. Good luck at the concert. No "oofs" at the show :)

Lol, yeah no “oofs”, but maybe a “doah!” or two.

Don-1UP-Cheers-Cartel-250px.png

You have received a 1UP from @dlmmqb!

The following @oneup-cartel family members will soon upvote your post:
@vibes-curator, @beatcz-curator
And they will bring !PIZZA 🍕

Learn more about our delegation service to earn daily rewards. Join the family on Discord.