Bass In This Place: July 2021 Wedding Performance With Steel Parade

img_4006.jpeg

Event details:
It’s July 17th and we are performing for a wedding. We thought we were in two locations, but that's been simplified. Phil our singer is officiating the ceremony.

The wedding is outside on a historic ranch. Usually outdoor wedding ceremonies are bad news to me. Nature gives zero fucks about weddings. Something wacky and nature related usually happens for outdoor weddings.

GLAM:

I set up the bass amp and head back to the car to get dressed. On the way back I carry my tuner pedal. It's the white box thing in the collages below.

img_3873.png
:)
img_3969.png

The image below is what I see when I look out from the stage. Looks like a nice set-up. Nice dark wood furniture and settings... ONE BAR?! uh-oh

img_3816.heic

More glam as we get a view of what the top of my right hand would see. It would see the bush surrounding my chin and the microphone I use to sing backup vocals. Every band needs harmonies.

img_3811.heic

If you were the PA head, this next image is what you would see. Me and the drummer are waiting for the ceremony to finish. When it's done we start music. We can also see most of the drumset and it's cheese cymbals, my bass, one of several giant trees in the area, and the one bar. Sad, sad picture.

img_3849.jpg

SHOES:
I've talked about shoes in other posts on my blog. It's not joke. Fucked up shoes will bring you pain. Don't neglect your feet.

img_3825.heic

In the image above we can see my awesome shoes and my friend's shit shoes. I have Florshime brand shoes. It's a work model. I am very happy with them. Good support, and cushion, with a clean black look. I found these are an army surplus store. I will buy them again.

My friend doesn't need to stand for long periods of time. I'm glad for him. Today he is playing percussion. Hey, look at the way he holds his drums sticks.

Jazzy BRO!!!
img_3827.heic

img_3856.heic

FOOD:

Didn’t eat much. Dinner plates were limited. Two little pork belly appetizer skewers. I drank one beer, a Modelo. It tasted better than I thought it would. Light flavor and refreshing. Nono of that cheap bread beer syrup taste.

img_3862.heic

Someone said this beer picture is my best shot. I think that person is obsessed with depth of field because they have a fresh camera. I also think it’s a nice shot, but I think it’s very familiar. We've probably seen lots of advertisements with images like this... or better. We all love familiar, right? Yes? No? I don’t know anything. I like to eat stuff. I like gold stuff too.

BASS:

img_3851.heic

This bass guitar is an electric bass, Fender Jazz Bass Deluxe. Made in the USA. Tuning pegs are mix and match because the originals broke off. Everything else is stock. That weird black spot near the bridge is nothing more than a GoPro mount for a GoPro that I don't own. I plan to buy one asap.

img_3943.png

We performed on the temporary dance floor. I was surprised to see our little so close to this locally famous tree. I loved it, but I hope we didn't disrupt the tree.

img_3985.png

DRUMS:
Trees probably like drums. It's one of the most primal instruments.

img_3821.heic

The drums set is nice a simple. We can see a complicated percussion tree in the background.

img_3823.heic

It would be a good habit to take a panoramic shot of every stage. I would have a cool collection after a while.

img_3859.heic

**PERCUSSION: **

img_3809.heic

img_3810.heic

STEEL DRUM:

img_3779.heic

img_3785.heic

img_3952.jpeg

img_3780.heic

img_3828.heic

img_3829.heic

VIDEO:

Coming soon…

img_4002.png

I’m working on it. My goal is simple and fast production time.

AGAVE:

Sometimes these Agave grow huge. They caught my eye on the way out.

img_3863.heic

I trust you enjoyed the images. Sorry no video or music yet. Thanks to the HIVE community for reading and supporting.

Thanks to @steelparade.

HEY!
BE SURE TO TAKE A LOOK AT THE FUN MUSIC @steelparade CREATES.
MUSIC: https://steelparade.bandcamp.com/music
BAND: https://www.instagram.com/p/CRf7i75JZSd/

img_6575.jpg