Mega Marsch Training

in EXHAUST22 days ago

Image from MegaMarsch.de

Hello friends!

How are you doing? I think I mentioned before that I want to hike the small Mega Marsch. Small is funny since it's still 50km to walk in 12 hours. The large Mega Marsch is 100km in 24 hours. I'm already preparing for that event by hiking more often and doing leg-focused kettlebell workouts. I have 6 months to prepare but 6 months can pass fast. The hikes in Bad Bertrich were part of the preparation for the Mega Marsch. On the last hike, I was still a bit sick with the flu but we walked a bit over 10km and I had a 10kg weight in my backpack. The time was good for the short tour. We have to keep the time up for the 50km.

Last hiking tour

Yesterday was another training day and I wanted to walk more but still with the weight on my back. This became a challenge...



Hiking Tour - Fantastic view over the lake

This was a very nice tour with many lakes, as shown in the tour map below. The weather was cloudy but warm. We started around half past 5 and it was clear we would hike a bit in the dark. But that is mandatory for the Mega Marsch anyway. The starting point is at the water tower, which is next to the climbing park, where I have been several times.

➡️ 14,8 km ↗️ 130 m ↘️ 230 m ⏳ 3:41

Screenshot from Komoot



We saw a slowworm and thought it was dead until we touched it and it moved a little. I'm not sure if they are ducks, but they walked ahead of us for a while, acting like a trail guide.

We didn't even walk halfway when the pain came. The weight on my back took its toll. My hips began to fire but it was still okay. The hard painful part began around 10km I think when it started to become dark. Every walk hurt and I couldn't even walk properly and the darkness made it even more difficult. The soles of my feet hurt too and back pain was just another detail. I had to fight for the last kilometers because I thought that the Mega Marsch would be even harder and there would be a point when exactly this would happen just without much weight but due to the distance walked. In the end, we made it and I was happy to get rid of the backpack. When I wanted to sit in the car, I got a cramp in my stomach. It looked like a big egg under the skin just on the left side of my belly. I'm not sure where this came from. Possibly, I didn't drink enough. I drank some water and tried to massage the spot and after a while, it was luckily gone.

The last photo before we left is from the enlightened water tower.



Food

Because we all were hungry, we went to a Turkish snack bar. I got a Döner sandwich with hot sauce and it was delicious.
A funny side story with 2 other English-speaking customers. One of the guys wanted hot sauce and the employee told him that it is really hot. I had the same sauce and it was hot but still okay. Anyway, the guy still wanted the sauce and took his first bite. I heard 'Holy cow' and 'Oh my god' all the time and it was clear that the sauce was too hot for him. He took his cap off and I could see his red face, and after the second bite, he tried to wipe off the sauce from his sandwich while swearing.



Thanks for reading!


chaosmagic23
Support chaosmagic23 on buymeberries
BitCoin with Lightning
Posted using Ecency Love

Images and screenshots are from me and the websites Komoot.com - MegaMarsch.de

Sort:  

Wow! I didn't hear about the Mega Marsch before. That sounds like a great event. I am surprised those people had a problem with the hot sauce, it is usually quite mild. 😅


I have picked this post on behalf of the @OurPick project! Check out our Reading Suggestions posts!

Comment Footer.jpg

Please consider voting for our Liotes HIVE Witness. Thank you!

Yeah, this sauce was a bit on the hotter side but still eatable.
!LOL
Lebron James Hype GIF by NBA

Did anyone hear the rumor about butter?
Don’t worry I won’t spread it.

Credit: reddit
@mypathtofire, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of chaosmagic23

(3/10)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

Good luck training! That will be a huge accomplishment.
It is funny how different people have different tolerances for hot and spicy foods.

Thank you!
Yes, that is true but it was so funny because he wanted the hot sauce under all circumstances and could not handle it then.

Congrats! That's a great challenge! 👍

Thank you, mate!

Congratulations @chaosmagic23! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 8250 replies.
Your next target is to reach 8500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024