A new parkrun location AND a new parkrun country πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

in EXHAUST β€’ 6 months ago (edited)

If you like running and you live in a location that has a parkrun anywhere near you then there's every chance that the title will make total sense to you. πŸ˜„

If you are not a runner and there is not a parkrun in your country, city, town then there's every chance you have no clue what I'm talking about! πŸ˜‚

parkrun (all lowercase, all one word) is a free, weekly, times community initiative to get people outdoors, running, walking and volunteering together. If you have a parkrun near you then it will be on every* Saturday morning sometime around sunrise or soon after. πŸŒ…

{*Occasionally events are cancelled due to extreme weather or for local sporting events, but most locations try to run every single Saturday without fail.}

@new.things and I love travelling (as you may have noticed if you've read any of our recent, or not so recent, posts). And we also enjoy running. And we also have a soft spot for parkrun, particularly since we met at a parkrun. 😊

So, it makes total sense to put our multiple loves together and travel to locations that have parkruns. Hence, this morning we were up early and in a taxi bound for East Coast Park parkrun, one of the three parkruns on the island nation of Singapore. πŸ‡ΈπŸ‡¬

It was my 239th parkrun that I have walked and/or run at.

It was my 138th different parkrun location.

And it was my 3rd parkrun country.

πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

But run fast, I did not.

For it was hot, hot, hot! πŸ₯΅

And my right knee is still a little out of sorts after all the walking the last three days. It's strange because the pain can be gone for weeks and then comes back without any sort of clear indication as too why. It started on the ski trip back in early August and it's been periodically visiting me ever since. πŸ€”

My current theory is that it's my body trying to tell me it's tired and that I should rest a bit more. πŸ₯±

So, I listened. Sort of. πŸ˜†

I jogged very slowly (about 7:50 min/km pace) and nose breathed the whole way. That actually felt less stressful than walking, both because I came in under 40 minutes (and didn't feel like I would have to rush to the airport) and also because, strangely, it hurts my knee less to jog slowly rather than walk. πŸƒβ€β™€οΈ

And now, we've finally had our post parkrun coffee at the weirdest place I've ever drank one: at the airport. β˜•

From here we are travelling to Chiang Mai, Thailand to visit a family member and explore some more. ✈️

If I have any sense at all I will find some pockets of time for some deep rest. Maybe while the Mister is sneaking in some more runs. πŸ˜‰

Photo of the red sunrise at East Coast Park, Singapore. Gratefully, taken by me. Photo of me running, taken by @new.things, for which I am grateful. 😊

Sort: Β 

I totally admire your passion for parkruns. It's good to see that you guys are traveling too. Thank you for sharing your lovely photos. Waiting for more of your adventures to come... happy weekend!


Made in Canva

!ALIVE

- @iamraincrystal - Moderator/Alive Video Master
_
This post has been curated by the Alive And Thriving Team, we curate good content in the We Are Alive Tribe that is on topic for #aliveandthriving, and it's included in our daily curation report on @aliveandthriving, plus @youarealive is following our Curation Trail.

Thanks so much, @iamraincrystal πŸ™

!ALIVE

untitled.gif

happy new week ahead! enjoy your vacation! πŸŽ‰

!ALIVE
!BBH
!PIZZA

@consciouscat! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @iamraincrystal. (11/20)

@consciouscat! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ iamraincrystal. (13/30)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Happy new week, @consciouscat! πŸ˜πŸ™πŸ’šβœ¨πŸ€™



Made in Canva

!ALIVE

- @tydynrain - Comment Moderator

@consciouscat! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ aliveandthriving. (13/40)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

@aliveandthriving! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ consciouscat. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

@consciouscat! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ aliveandthriving. (13/40)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

You guys really get around. I hope you recover soon. I was in Singapore years ago, but was not running then. I'm amazed they have multiple parkruns. Enjoy your travels.

!BEER

Thanks, @steevc. We do !LUV to travel!!

@steevc, @consciouscat just sent you LUV. (1/5)

That photo is gorgeous. I love travelling as well and exploring the world. Haha, do enjoy your weekend ma'am.

Thank you, ma'am! 😊

It's a pleasure.

I have seen so many foreigners who love to run
I wonder why
Running is not something that a lot of people do here though

I can only imagine it's partly to do with cultural differences; different cultures encourage and/or enjoy different ways to move their body.

I think it also requires a certain level of safety and good enough paths to run on. We've been to some countries where the footpaths are full of ankle-breaking holes, the small streets are guarded by dogs that will bite anyone who comes to close, and other places where it's just too hot to run for most people.

What do you like doing for exercise in Nigeria, @rafzat? Walking? Gym?

And it was my 3rd parkrun country

Wow, going international now! !LUV it!

My current theory is that it's my body trying to tell me it's tired and that I should rest a bit more. πŸ₯±
So, I listened. Sort of. πŸ˜†

Sounds familiar! 🀣

Sod being sensible though, you're on holiday, you might as well make the most of it (there'll be plenty of time for rest when you return home πŸ˜‰)

Sod being sensible though, you're on holiday, you might as well make the most of it (there'll be plenty of time for rest when you return home πŸ˜‰

Ah yes. It's tempting and good on theory. But my body quickly starts screaming loudly.

Already my immune system is running low, my right knee hurts when I walk and last night I had excruciating belly pain.

My body knows when I need to stop. I just need to honour what it's telling me sooner. Otherwise instead of splurging on my trip, I spoil it for me and for others involved.

@consciouscat, @dannewton just sent you LUV. (1/5)

Wow, that is some serious comittment to participating in parkruns! Congratulations! It's wondeful that you both enjoy it so much! πŸ˜πŸ™πŸ’šβœ¨πŸ€™


Hey @consciouscat, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Β 6 months agoΒ (edited)Β 

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
iamraincrystal tipped consciouscat
@new.things(3/10) tipped @consciouscat

!LOL
!ALIVE
!PIZZA

@consciouscat! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ new.things. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.