It's so cold my nose hurts πŸ˜¬πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈπŸ˜†

in EXHAUST β€’ 11 months ago

We'd been warned. Those obsessed with tracking the weather told us that a very cold front was on its way and due today.

They weren't wrong. πŸ₯Ά

I slept well and woke well, and got up to greet the sun. I piled on cozy layers, dragged thick socks onto my feet and ventured into the kitchen.

One big glass of water later, consumed in front of a wide open window, and I was almost ready to walk. I added a few more layers and topped it off with shoes for my feet, a small pack for my back, and I headed out the door.

It was so cold my nose hurt.

I wasn't expecting that. Cold air to breathe in, yes. Crisp, fresh, beautiful air, yes. But my nose!

To be fair, my bare fingers also retracted into my long sleeves refusing to actively participate in this walk. I checked my phone, consulting one of the weather apps to see what number correlated with this coldness I was perceiving. 8'C feels like 4'C.

"I'd believe it," I said to no one but cold air around me.

Screenshot from the Bureau of Meteorology (BOM) App.

I turned on my watch and started walking straight up the hill, looking back periodically over my shoulder to take in the bright orange rising sun β˜€οΈ Then I promptly disappeared into the bush.

I knew I wanted the exercise, to get out in the bush, to embrace the cold of the incoming winter and get lots of morning light in my eyes. But I also missed my tapping walks, those moving solo therapy sessions that I'd accidentally discovered 9 years ago and immediately fallen in love with.

I walked, breathing cold air into my nose, and I thought of the things that had been bothering me that I was ready to let go of. And I tapped, or rather rubbed my cold finger tips against the meridian points they could reach on their neighbouring fingers. πŸ–οΈ

It started working immediately, evident by the over sized yawns that wanted to escape my mouth as a way of my body ejecting old energy it no longer needed to hold onto.

I walked down the wide path, watching the sun rise ahead of me, spotting a quiet wallaby off to one side, my only company in the cold. I tapped. I yawned. I breathed in air through my still-cold nose. πŸ‘ƒ

And I remembered, yet again, quickly, fondly, why I adore solo tapping walks so much. They are so restorative, so easy to do, so effective. Halfway through my short walk my body tells me where done; no more processing old emotions, pesky thoughts or subconscious beliefs this morning. So I change tack and re-orient to my beautiful surroundings, spotting even more tiny wallabies hiding amongst the tall native grass. 🦘

Screenshot from Garmin Connect App. The distance I covered, alone, cold and grateful in the bush this morning.

Sort: Β 

Wow! I'd have headed straight back to bed, and waited for warmer weather. 😹 But it sounds like you enjoyed it after all, despite the cold nose!

Hehe. I did πŸ˜€ !LOL !LUV

I'm so good at sleeping
I can do it with my eyes closed.

Credit: reddit
@treefrognada, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @consciouscat

(1/8)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

I had to translate your degrees from sCience to Frankenstein. 45Β° is chilly. I'd like to find somewhere to live where it just stays between 70Β° & 80Β° F (21Β°-27Β° C) most of the year.

I had to translate your degrees from sCience to Frankenstein.

Bahaha. Gold! !LOL Fahrenheit is really freakin' weird, hey?

Maybe I'll (attempt to remember and) indulge my friends in the U.S. with a conversion next time.

I'd like to find somewhere to live where it just stays between 70Β° & 80Β° F (21Β°-27Β° C) most of the year.

I'd hazard a guess that somewhere closer to the equator, on the coast, at sea level would be the trick! San Fran get close?

Why did the football coach go to the bank?
To get his quarterback.

Credit: reddit
@jacobtothe, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @consciouscat

(2/8)
Thanks for supporting The LOLZ Project. We !LUV our users!

San Fran would be good except for two small factors: City and Californians.

!LOL You're hilarious. Thanks for making me smile. Again. πŸ˜„πŸ˜πŸ˜‰

What's the difference between a well-dressed man and a tired dog?
The man wears an entire suit, the dog just pants.

Credit: reddit
@jacobtothe, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @consciouscat

(1/8)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

lol... min of 8 and max of 20.... thats not chilly! In fact its not far off what we have right now:

image.png

This is quite nice, and quite warm in the sunshine :-)
(no wonder the whole country struggled when we hit 40C last year!)

Hope you're well Caroline, I've been a bit hit and miss with Hive/posting and not seen much of yours for a while

!LUV

Haha. Yes, always funny to compare across the world. I think we deal with 40'C much better than you lot ;) But then, you're used to the 4'C!

Yep. Been on and off here. Trying to be a bit more on than off. We'll see how that goes! !LUV

Congratulations @consciouscat! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - May 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the June edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Unveiling the Exclusive Web3 Berlin Conference Badge. HiveBuzz Adds a Touch of Excitement!