You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I've decided to do a marathon this year! (Did I really just say that?! πŸ˜…πŸ€”πŸ˜›)

in EXHAUST β€’ last year

πŸ˜„

I love your response.

I hear you on biases. I wonder where my bias was when I read the first book? I was in "normal" running shoes and wore orthotics in my closed toe shoes everywhere, doing everything I was told I should do. Who knows! Anywhere, I know what I "believe" now! !LOL

Brad is also saying "Surely it can't be as simple as just 180 cadence?" but he's trying it out anyway. Personally, I think a focus on just cadence is an oversimplification of a jam-packed book. I think our ability to run further, faster and easier comes as a result of putting many of the things they talk about together.

I've never read a book that is truly pointless and I'm sure I will be able to find at least some things to learn and new things to try.

The fact that I find this book challenging isn't an excuse to quit. If anything, it makes it even more important that I keep going... no-one ever changes if they do the same thing over and over.

This seems wise.

Music, yeah, I hear you. It was another thing the ultra running mate of mine insisted I stop doing 12 years ago. I seemed to easily give up running to music (not that I did it that much because we still didn't have a lot of good, lightweight, portable music devices then the way we do now). We just read that chapter last night and I enjoyed hearing the different perspectives. I like being able to connect to the world around me and do get annoyed (find myself flabbergasted might be a better way to describe it) when I see someone running with buds in their ears when running (or riding) somewhere with a lot of hazards, like other kinds of traffic. They can't hear their body but they also can't hear that bike/car/dog coming up behind them either!

I will indeed be following your 'journey' (so cliche!) and who knows, I might actually learn something along the way

Cliche or not, I'll be happy to share. !LUV

Sort: Β 

I wonder if glass coffins will become popular one day?
Remains to be seen.

Credit: reddit
@dannewton, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @consciouscat

Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.
(4/8)