You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Greenway in Spring

in EXHAUSTlast year

The worst thing about it is the way all the gravel gets washed downhill in heavy rain, so there are screes of deep gravel at the bottom of fairly fast descents, just where there shouldn't be. A friend of mine wiped out on one of these and broke a collar bone last year. This is supposed to be a family trail, with no technical sections, suitable for hybrids, which is what he was on at the time 😐

Sort:  

That's too bad! I know I've had a few similar tumbles over the years but take it real easy now I'm in my mid sixties! 🙄 However I do like a challenge so I don't take the easy routes, it's quite hilly around there.

Yeah, I started mountain-biking in my forties, and got to the point where I could ride most blue trails in a bike park. But I'm much more cautious now (mid-fifties), especially now that the NHS is so overwhelmed -- @steevc kindly acted as ambulance when my friend got hurt because there would have been an eight-hour wait.