A Frosty Run - 10km (and an attempt at speedwork)

in EXHAUSTlast year (edited)

prof_image_38890967.png
dannewton just finished a 10.17km run, that lasted for 60 minutes.
This run helped dannewton burn 797.0 calories.


Description from Strava: This wasn't the session I had planned to do, but the risk of ice put me off. It was pretty chilly at -2C (and a wind chill of -6C), but as it had been dry for the last few days there shouldn't be a great deal of ice. However after my fall 7 weeks ago due to ice from the last cold snap we had I wasn't taking any chances!

The session I planned was to do some reps at a faster pace along the bypass route

yes, a session with actual speedwork in!

Since I got back into running last June, I've mostly been plodding and building up the miles. There has been the odd tempo run here and there, but nothing properly structured. It was time to try a faster session, but waking up to freezing fog this morning put paid to that idea

I retreated back to just running laps around the housing estate, boring but safe. And then I remembered that the lap features a 300m straight section, perhaps I can just run fast on that section each lap?

So I did!

image.png

And here you go... it should be fairly obvious in the graph above where those straight sections were.

Technically this isn't 'proper' speed work, as the gaps between the faster intervals are too long, but as first sessions go, this was a nice starting point.

The aim of speedwork is to get the body used to running at a faster pace, which will eventually lead to being able to maintain a quicker pace for the longer runs. I wasn't sure what pace to aim for so I went purely by feel to chose a pace that was quicker than normal but would be able to maintain for the whole section.

The quicker paces here ranged from 4:39min/km to 4:16min/km, and averaged at approx 4:30 which is a pretty reasonable place to start. Obviously its gonna be a long time until I can manage that pace over a Half Marathon distance for example, but if I am able to get used to running at 5:00 to 5:30min/km then that will mean I will complete the distance in under 2 hours, which is a goal for this year.

I'll be tying to do a speedwork session every week, although I will have to make sure I'm rested enough each time, and I suppose I'll be doing different sessions each time to keep my body guessing

And I guess I'd better start researching the different variations of speedwork out there ;-)


If you would like to check out this activity on strava you can see it here:
https://www.strava.com/activities/8405765157

About the Athlete: Living in the UK, I am an intermittent Runner, but always striving for more consistency. When I'm not training I can be found photographing insects or listening to really loud angry music (which is the best type of music obviously!)

image_8405765157.png

This is an automated post by @strava2hive and is currently in BETA.

Sort:  

Half bread is better than none. Atleast you put in some work even if it wasn't what you planned for.
👍

Thats so true... something is always better than nothing! At least I managed to adapt and get some rewards for my effort :-)

good on you in this weather dude, gonna be a cold week

Thank you! Yep a noticeably colder spell of weather this week... unfortunately no snow here though :(

keep them fingers crossed for 4ft of snow 🤗

Well done on getting out. There was lots of ice on my way to work. I may run tomorrow, but it's not looking much warmer. Take care.

!PIZZA

Thanks! Its proper chilly out, but fortunately dry enough so there is little ice about. I was on high alert though to avoid the odd small patch that was about.

At least this time the cold weather is only for a few days, so it shouldn't stop you from running for too long

!LUV

I always used to love waking up early like that as well. Before the sun comes up I just wanted to Breaking over the dawn, you see the smoke coming out of chimneys and the frost is still on the earth, but you put your shoes on and go for a run. So refreshing

You're smashing your training at the moment and getting stronger every day.
From the month of August 2022, the Strava2Hive leader board will be determined by "calories burned"!

This Weeks Leader Board(Top 5):

  1. @pinkhub - 2027.8 Calories Burned
  2. @kiwibloke - 1432.7 Calories Burned
  3. @run.kirsty.run - 1080.4 Calories Burned
  4. @run.vince.run - 1060.0 Calories Burned
  5. @dannewton - 797.0 Calories Burned

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@steevc(1/5) tipped @dannewton (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza!