You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I've decided to do a marathon this year! (Did I really just say that?! πŸ˜…πŸ€”πŸ˜›)

in EXHAUST β€’ last year

Born To Run 2? 😲 I have the first one, but had no idea Born To Run 2 exists!!! I'm not a runner anymore, but I know the first one and it's highly motivating, so I need to get my hand on the second one!!!

Running a marathon is kind of a must, if you feel fit enough! July is a terrible month for a marathon in my country, but not in yours. I'm not sure what the temperature is like in July, but can't be that cold. Go for it!

Sort: Β 

Yes! It just come out less than a month ago. It's awesome!

I'm not a runner anymore

Why is that? (If you care to share. I'd love to know. Why did you stop? And do you still love the idea of running? Maybe Born to Run 2 will help you get back into it??)

July is a pretty reasonable time to do a marathon here in Queensland. While it's "winter" the top half of Australia (along the coastline, anyway) doesn't really get very cold. Sometimes the day the GC marathon is held it gets to 20'C before the end of the run! But it can get down below 10'C overnight, which is better for running anyway!

I definitely wouldn't want to do a marathon in July in Tasmania πŸ˜‚ Or anywhere that's latitudinally as close to either pole as Tasmania is! Like anywhere in the top half of Europe or anywhere mountainous 😝

I've been dealing with low back pain and it is not recommended. I still wanted to prove I'm capable of running, so my longest distance was 10k and had 2 competitions as well, which I'm proud of. But then my body started to signal and had to take it seriously.

10'C is perfect for running. I've been testing myself and the lowest temperature for me was -5C and I loved it.

Sounds like you have been running! Which in my mind makes you a runner!

Christopher and Eric talk about how fixing running form fixes multiple issues in our bodies, one of the top five being lower back pain. Obviously, I have no idea how bad your pain is and if running is safe for you or not, so I totally trust you'll keep doing whatever makes sense to you and please know there's stuff in their book specifically about lower back pain and running and form.

Running in -5'C!! I haven't done that. The closest I've got, I think, is running at 1'C with a wind chill factor that dropped it to -3'C for a parkrun in our Snowy Mountains here in Australia a few years ago. Cold, cold, cold!