2 workouts after a 10-day complete break

in EXHAUST4 years ago

20201022_025108.jpg

Almost two weeks ago, I had a tooth extracted, and they told me I should avoid strenuous activities and sport for at least 2 weeks, to make sure heavy breathing and higher blood flow don’t put unnecessary pressure on the sutures, which would obviously affect the healing, or even cause bleeding. I was surprisingly patient and for 10 days, my only real activity was walking the dogs. Of course, it was rather long walks, as we averaged close to 6 miles a day, with 2 or 3 daily walks. But it was at a reasonable and steady pace, as they suggested.

Yesterday, as I did not experience any pain or bleeding for these 10 days, I thought it was finally time to give it a try with some sport. Instead of going directly for a bike ride or a run, I decided to try a 20 minutes back and biceps circuit. Just body weight and light dumbbells, and a dynamic finish. Nothing too intense as the heart rate curve shows, but as I didn’t lift weight for quite a while (summer is really for outdoor activities), it was tiring enough, and I knew for sure I would feel it the next few days (I do indeed). Good news is that even if I could feel a light pressure on the sutures, it was not enough to call it pain, and no bleeding.

Screenshot_20201020235059_Workout Trainer.jpg

Today, to complete the test, I thought I would do the same with a chest and triceps circuit. The heart rate curve shows it was even less intense. However, this makes me skeptical about the accuracy of my watch heart rate monitor. 2 full minutes of burpees (2 peaks at the end) without even breaking 125bpm, it does not sound realistic to me, not in my current shape anyways. Not sure if the HRM on newer watches are better, I think this one does pretty good at rest, but often goes crazy (in both directions) during intense activity. Nothing beats a chest strap for accuracy. But I guess like with any data, the trend over several similar workouts is probably more meaningful than absolute values. Anyways, just like yesterday, no pain, and no bleeding. So, I am now confident I can fully resume sport. Hopefully we’ll have good weather in the next days, so I can ride my bike and go for a run.
Till then keep Exhausting!

Screenshot_20201021234458_Workout Trainer.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @manuvert! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 700 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

October 2020 is the World Mental Heath Month