Heart Rate Spike?

in EXHAUST2 years ago (edited)

Trying to do a longer easy run this morning keeping my heart rate below 130. I usually have the tendency to over do things with all rolling hills in our neighbourhood. I was doing really well with just the occasional glance at my wrist based garmin heart rated fenix 3 watch and keeping my stride short and easy.

Then out of no where the read out jumps 30 beats. I was still feeling the same just heavy legs from yesterday's faster parkrun. I tried to slow down more but the read out stayed to same. I just dismissed it thinking the wrist based monitoring is not that good and I can't complain as I could not really be bothered with the chest strap.
But once home and looking at the stat's I start to wonder if it is telling me exactly where my fitness is at. I have heard of other people just walking home then there watch tells them there not gaining any possitive training effect.
Maybe I should have walked for a bit too see if I could have dropped the hert rate.

Either way something to experiment with in future.