Lake Windermere Ultra Marathon

in EXHAUST3 years ago

I just finished a 74.062km running that lasted about 10hh:24mm:32ss !

image

Wow! What a day!
This was my first ultra marathon attempt. Originally I had entered a 50k (And therefore trained for 50k) but it was cancelled because of covid19 so I had to find another ultra around the same time. Unfortunately the only realistic one was this and it was 74k.
The event was called The Lap 21 and it was a full lap of the area surrounding Lake Windermere in the Lake District. You have 24 hours to complete the loop, it is 95% off road and included nearly 3000m of climbing. The Lake District is one of the most beautiful places in the UK but the weather can be very unsettled. This was one of those days! It started raining at 05:55 just before the start of the race and continued until 16:30, an hour before I finished. Some of the views were still amazing and others I couldn’t see anything because of hail or fog.
By the half way check point I was pretty frozen from being wet and then battered by the wind. Some soup, sweet tea and a change of clothes made the world of difference and I was ready to go again. Especially once the waterproof trousers had gone on!
The race plan was to walk the hills, take on liquids + food during these climbs and then run the rest. It was great to chat to like minded people and it felt like a bit of a picnic in places. All was going well until 60k when the fog descended, the ground became very muddy and I totally hit a wall. After this point there was only 15 minutes here and there where I was able to run. I put on The Eye of The Tiger and it massively lifted my mood and got me up the last hills 😂
The last 5k was really tough but the end was in sight and when I went across the finish line and found out that I had somehow bagged 12th lady it all felt worthwhile.
Hot shower, big plate of pasta and a beer to celebrate 🍺

image

image

Check out some detailed info at my EXHAUST page
Join me in testing out EXHAUST!

Sort:  

How awesome is that! Congratulations! A very well deserved beer!

Thank you!! I can drink all month now the training is done 😁

Congrats again! More later :)

@tipu curate

:) thanks Ervin. Cannot bear to even look at a foam roller yet #sorelegs

Ice bath :)

Wow, that is just impressive, congratulations! And with all that climbing too! By the way, when thinking about UK, hills are not the first thing that comes to mind, but that does look like a really nice area.

Thank you so much. It was a great day out & I would recommend doing one. Even the training was fun! Ooh we have some good climbs in the UK. Where I live is relatively flat but the Lake District, Peak District, Yorkshire, Wales + Scotland are full of big ass hills + amazing views.

I'm sure you had fun training, some of your Exhaust posts proved it. But I can't imagine running such distances. Maybe one day, I might think about a full marathon before I really feel too old, but even that sounds too much!
If I ever visit UK again (it's been a while), I'll have to remember these hills.
Hope you're recovering well

That's amazing! Well done. I can imagine the weather made it harder. It's great that the event could even happen. Maybe we can start having more events again.

Big !LUV from down south.


Hey @rthelly, here is a little bit of BEER from @ervin-lemark for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Hi @rthelly, you were just shared some LUV thanks to @steevc. Holding 10 LUV in your wallet enables you to give up to 3 LUV per day, for free. See the LUV in your wallet at https://hive-engine.com or learn about LUV at https://peakd.com/@luvshares https://ipfs.io/ipfs/QmUptF5k64xBvsQ9B6MjZo1dc2JwvXTWjWJAnyMCtWZxqM