You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Marabank 2024 - Ultra Marathon Race Report 🥉

in EXHAUST3 months ago

The good weather was a real bonus for you. Doing that in the rain would be hard. I'm really impressed with how you did. A marathon pb and cracking 50km are nice achievements.

Have you hit 'the wall' on your long runs? Stopping for refreshments may help with that.

I do wonder how far I could run if I took it gently. An event like that would be a way to find out.

!BEER

Sort:  

er yes... I'm sure it would have been a very different experience if it was raining/windy... and thank you, i'm really proud of how well I did (possibly my 2nd best running experience, beaten only by the day I ran my very first 10km race 18 yeas ago).

In hindsight, I would agree with you, I didn't eat nearly enough. I only had a sandwich, a chocolate biscuit and 3 glasses of coke. I would have eaten more as part of my lunchtime during an average office day... it certainly wasn't enough to fuel me to run almost continuously for 6 hours.

Note to self: I need to improve my fueling on long runs

I do wonder how far I could run if I took it gently.

Ah, I see I've planted a seed! It's one of the many reasons I run, to challenge myself and see just what I'm capable of.

There are quite a few 'duration events' across the country, ranging from 4 hours and 6 hours, all the way up to 24 hours and beyond. These events also attract a huge range of people of differing abilities, and you'd be surprised at how many distinctly 'average' people turn up to do some extraordinary things