Strava2Hive - Update 2

in EXHAUST2 years ago

Automated Service To Transfer Your Strava Activity To Hive

S2HLogo.png

TLDR


Progress is still happenning on this project. Sign up is now complete including Hivesigner and Strava authentication integration with requesting of Posting Authority and not Posting Key. The next week, I will be looking at using this authority to start posting. Also need to clear up a new issue with the Strava API that is no longer providing the image in Activity Posts. I am really hoping to start getting some Beta Testers in the next week or two.

If you are interested on some more of the history of this project and what we are wanting to create, please read the following: https://hive.blog/hive-176853/@strava2hive/introduce-myself-strava2hive

Sign Up And Posting Authority


It was clear that people did not want to provide a posting key to use the service. I have sorted out how to use the HiveSigner api to allow users to grant posting authority to strava2hive. It is just a matter of setting up how to use the authority to start posting now. The sign up doesn't look that pretty but it is doing the job.

I have been using the PipeDream SaaS to do some of the functionality and it is coming along really well. The documentation is a little crap but I have been able to set up some quick apis to test and report on data as well as piece together the user sign up.

Speed Up Of Processing


Although I have not really been able to spend too much time on functionality, I was able to cut down some processing time of the service. With only three current users, it was taking close to ten minutes to complete, but this has not been cut back to about a minute which will hopefully allow me to get some more testers on board.

Strava Loosing Images


Over the passed day or so Strava has stopped showing the location of images on their api. This is a little annoying and there have been one or two people make note on the support channel. This is the second things I need to approach this week to get things to a minimal viable product.

The ultimate goal of the whole project is for me to be coding more, while setting something up to get people more active and it is definitely helping. Like I said I am hoping to get it to a stage to allow people to start testing shortly and this should make me code more.

Let me know if you have any questions or have any ideas on how to make this project as cool as it can be.

code -> people get active -> users use service -> me code more
Sort:  

Keep up the good work mate!! I don't have so much time for Hive, so I've been adding you to the autovote. Like this I don't fail to upvote any post of you any more... You know you can find that function in hive.vote right (just in case you'd like to add me too....)? @svanbo

 2 years ago  

Thanks for letting me know @svanbo definitely like auto voting.

tomorrow I'll try to read your post and history through, so that I can take action. Strava connection is a must-do for my Actifit... Please leave a small reaction than I don't forget to get to it tomorrow when I'm home from work!

Hi Vince, any new updates? Is there anything we can test already to make a connection with Strava?
In the End it'll be a connection Stava > Actifit > Hive? Keep up the good work mate !LUV

@strava2hive, @svanbo(4/4) sent you LUV. wallet | market | tools | discord | community | daily

⚠ The LUV command will soon require a limited number of other "!" commands accompany it. Details here.

Actually, good timing...I am going to get some people to access very soon.

Great! Looking forward to it! i've been Betatesting the Trenara app as well a few years ago. That was fun. I lost it out of sight a bit. I should take a look how they're doing now...

 2 years ago  

Hey @svanbo glad you are excited to start with the service. You will be one of the first people using the service and I am going to see if anyone else wants to start testing shortly:

Steps to get started

  1. Make sure your activity in Strava is visible to everyone. Go to https://www.strava.com/settings/privacy and set Activities to Everyone.
  2. The sign up process is at this URL. It will take you through HiveSigner authorisation and then Strava authorisation: https://forms.gle/4WJa13Qq5UpJJaF68
  3. Strava2hive will look through your activity and if you have a description added to your activity, it will create a Hive Post for you.

Hmmm I'm re-reading and in point 2 you write "and than Strava authorisation". I have not been prompted to give any Strava authorisation. I followed your link again, but I only seem to be able to sign up as a new user again, not to correct or to complete my sign up process. I'll wait and look forward to your thoughts and suggestions. Thanks again for sharing with me this great journey !LUV

@run.vince.run, @svanbo(4/4) sent you LUV. wallet | market | tools | discord | community | daily

⚠ The LUV command will soon require a limited number of other "!" commands accompany it. Details here.

Hey @svanbo, I am not sure what went wrong but I think it was because I was not clearer on my instructions.

  1. If you follow the link it will give you a form first to fill out basic details, and I have got all that.
  2. When the form completes, you then need to click the link the HiveSigner and I am not getting any results from that.
  3. After the HiveSigner request, it asks for you to click on another link for Strava.

It is really good feedback, as it is obviously not easy from someone elses perspective.

Let me know if you still want to have a go.

Regards Vince

Obviously I still want a go :-) We continue till this is working mate !LOLZ
I can tell you that Hivesigner gives authorization to Strava2hive, cause I've seen it in the settings. Now the question is how do I get the other link for Strava without having to fill out the form again. Don't get me wrong, I'd do the process over again, if you'd tell me to do so. The reason I didn't ist that I didn't want to create a new obstruction like "existing user"...

I'm looking for an arsonist interested in a romantic relationship.
I want someone who can set my world on fire!

Credit: reddit
@strava2hive, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @svanbo
Release your inner Rock Star with Rising Star! The best #play2earn game on Hive! Play for Free!
(1/2)

Ok, here we go. I followed the steps. It seemed to go wrong with the Hivesigner authorisation but I've checked it in my Hivesigner settings and authorisation has been granted. After that I've been adding some titles to my last activities that had been posted in Strava already. Unfortunately nothing happened. I downloaded last two activities from my watch to Garmin and Strava and wrote a title in first. Nothing happened again. Something must have gone wrong. Could you check? Do you want to create a separate post for these kind of test results? Or shall I keep on writing here?*

I definately got the details from the first form, but did not get the hivesigner auth or strava auth.

One last thing is, you need to have a description, even if it is the tag "#hive"

I appreceate your time on this, it shows me things are not as clear as what I hoped they are. Let me know how you go.

Regards Vince

Following the first link I get the message that that I just need to authorize Strava...
This was an easy step. A description I have been giving but that would not have been the problem.
That things are not working at the first time and things need to be explained again or done in a different way is not a problem as all, that's why we're betatesting. I appreciate being part of this. Let's continue like this!

 2 years ago  

@svanbo that looks really good, thanks for persevering. I am running things now to see if everything is working ok.

Hi @run.vince.run or @strava2hive
Have you seen my question and doubts about ccyling and trail activities?

Sure mate. I ws just considering that I still had my ride from today to download. So I downloaded it, added a title, but no success. I did what I could, It's your turn again, my friend ;-)

There we go...
I kept one Strava Post where I didn't put a title (but Strava did automatically put "Afternoon run". I've been adding a title ("Rodaje Suave - Easy beginning of the week"). But no post seems have been created.
That's the "title". Now I've eben adding "description" ("con Ramón y Victor") Without success again. The only think I could think about now is patience. Maybe the post will be made after some time?...

 2 years ago (edited) 

Hey @svanbo I am sorry I missed your comments. If you checkout the post https://hive.blog/hive-176853/@svanbo/rodaje-suave---easy-beginning-of-the-week-0023251381 this went live as soon as you added a description on Strava. Try that with your other activity and that should add it as well. If there is an activity missing, it may be old...Send me the link and I will make sure it gets added.

Thanks again for your efforts, Vince. I've been adding now descriptions instead of only titles to the activities (see my comment to the post you're referring to); Maybe that is the reason why it doesn't get through. No worries, we keep on monitoring! !LUV

Congratulations @strava2hive! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!