Running, hiking & Shin splints (HELP!)

in EXHAUST3 years ago

Hi there, I’m new to this community. I am an avid outdoorsy runner (only short distances), hiker (Sunday morning hikes) and have recently started getting shin splints in my right shin. It’s crazy how something so minor can cause such pain.

img_2096.png

img_2094.png

img_2095.png

The hike was twice as far as we thought it was going to be but STUNNING! Here’s one of the view.

img_1952.jpg

In the last few days I’ve done a couple runs, walks and 1 longer hike, so I’m guessing it’s time to ease off the hikes for a bit to give the shins a break.

I’ve had so much advice from getting new running show (check - done yesterday) to ice and rest. But the idea of the kinetic tape intrigued me!

img_2093.heic

So here we go. I’m giving the kinetic tape a try together with my new running shoes and arnica gel. Did it tape it correctly?? First time for everything so YouTube was my source of tuition in this instance.

Maybe you all have some corrections for me. Then as soon as I’m less sore I can get back on the road.

I’m looking forward to sharing some runs real soon.

Sort:  

Welcome to the exhaust community!

I don't know anything about taping sorry, but I do know that if you ask the internet for help you will gets LOTS of conflicting advice...

For what its worth, I treat shin-splints the same as any other over-use injury - i.e. lots of rest. Do you think you have increased the length or speed of your walks/runs too much in the last couple of weeks? Overtraining (or not enough rest days) is a likely cause, and the solution unfortunately is to take a break and rest. Once the pain goes then you can start slowly increasing the distance again.

I wish you luck in getting it sorted soon :-)


By the way, we have a strava club for Hive Runners if you wanted to join?
https://www.strava.com/clubs/hiverunning

Thanks so much! I’m laid up on the couch right now a d taking a break day tomorrow again. The tape does seem to be helping, I just hope that I remember how I did it.

Congratulations @zo3d! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 250

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP