Once an early bird, how about now?

in HiveGhana2 months ago

Adulthood and responsibilities come with a lot of changes in our lives. While growing, if there's one thing I can't trade for anything, it's my sleep. Sleeping was my way of hiding my fears and worries.

I sleep in season and out of season. It got so bad that my mom believed something was wrong with me.


Image source

For me, sleep had its way of solving most of my problems. When I'm angry, I sleep. When I'm scared, I sleep. When I'm worried about something, I sleep. And believe me, after waking up, I always have a better way of resolving whatever problem or worry I have before bed. But as for the hunger part, It doesn't fix that. I only get a little energy to fix something for myself.

But now that I have understood life and I'm living in the reality of it, I don't always sleep like I used to. I have a lot of things to do and figure out now that I have the energy and strength to.

24 hours a day is no longer enough for me due to the nature of my job. I get to go to work as early as 7 a.m., and I close by 5 pm. In most cases, I close late because, unless I'm done with my task for the day, I can't go home.

With the way my country is, you can't have a single source of income. You must have multiple sources, and because of that, I take on extra jobs that I get to do at home. Most times, I end up sleeping by 11:00 pm or even 12:00 am.

Waking up every morning is a struggle for me. I crawl out of bed every morning. But one thing I believe is that such moments are not meant to last forever. It's a phase of life that must surely end. My mom will always tell me that what you sow today is what you will reap tomorrow. That's to say, if you sow laziness today, you will reap poverty tomorrow.

Some days, I am all moody and dull because I didn't get enough sleep during the night. While some days, I am alive and full of energy. But one thing is for sure: I can't be ineffective, no matter what. I have to be productive in every situation. So my lack of sleep has nothing to do with my energy level or productivity, but when it comes to my mood, it has a huge impact on my mood.

Does your sleep schedule ever clash with the schedule of others?

For a few times, yes. I have missed so many opportunities because I was too lazy to get out of bed. Because when I'm tired, waking me up is never easy. You can carry me out of my house without my realizing it. Amazingly, alarms hardly wake me up. You can imagine how I get to wake up every morning. But when the meeting is so important, I pray to God to wake me up once my alarm rings and He has never failed.

I have become a NIGHT OWL

Sort:  

Yes! Cheers to all the opportunities we missed because of sleep
We can only try our best to not repeat it but then it’s really hard to cheat nature, so sometimes no matter how important the meeting is,when sleep calls you’d just respond 😂

My dear cheers oo.

Honestly we can't cheat nature

I also love sleeping a lot because it makes me to forget my worries.

Cheers to we that love sleep 🥂