Entertainment Options in Tamale

in HiveGhana10 days ago

I’ve lived in Tamale so long that sometimesI start forgetting that is not actually MY town. So when I saw the Aprilinleo prompt for today about things that need to be improved in your town, my mind constantly thought of Tamale.

I realized though that everything I thought needed improving in Tamale was even worse in Savelugu, so I’m eventually still doing the assignment right.

Now here’s the problem

Tamale lacks entertainment options

Something I’ve noticed in my stay here is that when it comes to entertainment, it’s almost always a “show”.

I’m not sure whether everyone understands what I mean by a “show”, so I’ll try to explain it in the context I used it.

What many people call concert, we call locally “show”. So it’s basically music performances by one or a group of artists.

I personally have never been to a show before, so I can’t judge whether it is even something enjoyable, but I was close to the experience about 2 years ago once when I was in Uni. Oh wait. It was a year ago and I was no longer in Uni.

I saw Fancy Gadam come on stage and perform and even though I never really thought of myself as either a fan of local music, talkless of Fancy, I found myself excited.

I obviously don’t have a problem with shows, but my problem is with the fact that it seems to be the go-to option for entertainment here, when there are several other options

More Game Centers

In my primary school days, even in Savelugu, there used to be game centers all over the town where kids, teenagers and adults played games like Grad Theft Auto and the likes for fun.

As the years passed, that culture has slowly faded away, but giving rise to other forms of gaming.

Somewhere last year, I read a post by @mercysugar (long time no see, mercy) where she shared her gaming experience at ShopRite. I wondered why there was nothing like that in Tamale as of now, considering that Tamale is one of the major and fastest growing cities of not just Ghana, but West Africa in it’s entirety.

Standard Cinemas

As far as I know, there’s only one cinema in Tamale (Picorna), and it’s barely surviving right now. I think why not many people show interest in cinema (watching movies in the cinema here) is the poor branding of the place. Very minimal effort is put into providing and unforgettable cinema experience competitive with that of standard cinemas like Silverbird.


TLDR; Tamale is a very interesting and fun place, but it sure could use one or two other options for entertainment.


First two images belongs to cktutas and is used with permission. Last 2 images are mine.


The #aprilinleo post prompts are out. Check this post to find out what the prompts for this month are, and how to participate. You stand a chance to win a free INLEO premium account by participating.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Perhaps those entertainment centres in Tamale feel that shows will bring them more income than if they are gaming.🤔

That’s the thing, the entertainment centers are not the ones organizing the shows. It’s the artists. There are no real “entertainment centers. Just hotels, restaurants and the likes.