Adulthood: Feeling The Heat

in HiveGhanalast month (edited)

My little niece came up to me some time and was complaining bitterly how she doesn't like the way her mom forces her to take naps during the day and even ensuring she sticks to her bedtime at nights. She inquired if I have a bedtime rule and I confirmed negative. After the whole ranting session she goes like " I want to grow up fast and be like you so my mom will not keep bothering me about bedtime rules".

Oh dear

I can remember feeling exactly the same way when I was younger. I hated being forced to take naps when I was supposed to be playing or doing any other fun stuff. The idea of growing up be an adult used to get me so excited. Like her, I also wanted to enjoy a measure of freedom as one of the perks that come with adulthood. To be able to do things without having to seek permission from my parents or older people around me.

Independence

The thing is, you can only dream about all you want to be and everything you want to experience until you get to that stage. And truthfully, sometimes it's not want we expect it to be. It's like waiting for package for so long and discovering that the important items you were really looking forward to are missing. You've excitedly messed up the wrappings and all that, so there's no sending it back or anything of such.

When I was about to leave secondary school back then, my teachers will always come in class and say "now you're about to enter the world"

They don't mean it literally, they're talking about the world of adulthood. The world of taking up responsibilities, the world of making life choices, the world of challenges and so much more. It can get overwhelming when we think of the many things we have to keep up with as adults. No matter how much we may think to have prepared for it...well, life doesn't always follow your rules, if it did, then all of us would've been living our perfect lives by now.

Personally,one of the hardest part of adulting has to be the aspect of taking up responsibilities. That is one thing childhood didn't come with. My parents were the sure plug of everything. You're hungry, there's food in the kitchen. Your clothes are bad, they'll get a new one. You need this, you need that? Sure, they'll get it for you. Absolutely nothing to worry about as kids.

Now the story changed. First off, I know there is no more relying on them for everything. I have to sort out my own bills and even contribute for bills around the home. And that is not easy to come by especially when you're living in an unfavourable economy, having to literally work twice as hard, in order to meet up your financial expectations. It makes me wonder sometimes how my parents were able to raise their 7 kids to grow in adults in spite of all the challenges because I'm barely keeping my head above the rising tides of adulthood.

When it comes to making decisions, it's something you definitely have to do on your own. You're now a referee in your own court. It's quite a difficult aspect of adulting that I still haven't figured out. It wasn't hard knowing what to do as a child, it's either there are rules or you can just ask mom. Fast forward to now, when I ask mom, she says " I can only guide you but it's your life, you're the one to live it". The uncertainties of life also makes it harder to chose to walk through some life paths because, what if there is a downside?, will I be able to get back up?. On the other hand, making important decisions calls for accountability for whatever you chose to do. Nobody is going to make excuses for you, whatever you chose to do with your life is all on you.

It gets a little bit consuming when I think of the whole concept of adulthood sometimes. However, this is the deadend, the point of no return. No matter how much I wish to have the life I had as a child back, it unrealistic and unattainable. I just hope to sail through the waters of adulthood with a positive outlook and who knows, things might actually work out for the best.

Image source 1

Image source 2

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Adulthood is good but comes with lots of responsibilities. All the same, we enjoy the freedom of not taking permission from anyone

Adulthood as much as it has its challenges, also has its benefits.

Your niece made me laugh😂
Sometimes I wish I could retrieve all the time I didn’t sleep as a child
I can’t even imagine I used to cry anytime I was told to go to bed

For the decision making I still ask my mom because I can’t kill myself😂

I'm telling you.
When I remember how much my mom used to beg me to take naps and I refuse, I just feel stupid😀

You cannot come and go and kill yourself oo, the road still far😅😅

Very far🤣

Adulthood isn't an easy stage but the freedom and fun that comes from this stage is something nice

Adulthood is a fun stage actually,but the challenges it comes with are what makes it seem less interesting. We're going to push through regardless.

Hehheh, adulthood is full of responsibilities dear, but what is life if it has no obstacles for us to battle with? It's not easy being an adult but those challenges are the reasons why some of us left our comfort zone to become better individuals today

Yeah sure,the sacrifices we make as adults helps us to become better. In the end,we may come to realize that adulthood is quite fun.

It feels good to ba an adult, knowing fully well that you won't be compelled to do some certain things.
Though really calls for responsibilities.
I love your work🫡

And that's what makes us wish to go back sometimes right? The responsibilities.
Thanks for the compliment and your time🙂

Congratulations @empressjay! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 1750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2024
Happy Birthday to the Hive Blockchain

If only your little niece knows whats in adulthood, she will reverse her statement😂

Well, adulthood would have been sweet if not for bills.