Easy and Pocket-friendly meal

in HiveGhana19 days ago
  QUICK AND EASY MEALS

I don't want to know how tired I can be, I will still cook my delicious food. This is because cooking is one of my hobbies. I can cook different meals at the same time so far ingredients are available even, if not available, improvisation is not my problem. Maybe, I should go for a cook-a-thon🤣

As we got back from church service, I was tired and famished and also craving for fried rice at the same time but I wasn't subject to a takeout. Anytime, you see me in the eatery, it's not for food, it might be for something like snacks or ice creams. I'm not a fan of takeout meals😋

I was salivating for fried rice and you know fried rice ingredients can be very expensive. I love my fried rice to be rich in veggies the ingredients should be visible and the color inviting. However, I decided to go for a low-budget and pocket-friendly fried rice. The thought of you not having to break the bank before you could eat whatever you want crossed my mind sharply. I resulted in getting my ingredients first at a nearby food store behind my house.

Here is my list with a low price👇

     Ingredients

Rice 5cups (home)
Vegetable oil tin milk cup (home)
Green pepper #250
Carrot #200
Green peas #200(fresh)
Sweet corn #300(fresh)
Spring onion #200
Runner beans #100
Liver #200
Red kidney #200(fresh)
Seasoning #100
Curry & Thyme #100
Meat stock
Salt to taste
Red pepper (optional)

IMG_20240331_055423_012.jpg
I per-boiled my Red kidneys and Green peas because they are fresh and very hard to make them softer before use.

IMG_20240331_054316_046.jpg
Red kidney and green peas

    Preparation

Wash my rice with a clean water
Per boiled the rice for 3 minutes
Wash to reduce the starch
Sieve and drain the water
Then pour back the rice into a clean pot and Add the meat stock to cook
Add small curry and salt
Cook the rice for some minutes, don't overcook.

On the other hand
Wash all the veggies to remove sand
Take a tray and place the veggies
Use a chopping board or a slicer
Slice your veggies one after the other, then segment them in a tray to look attractive ✌️
Also, dice your onions and the liver

IMG_20240331_055432_066.jpg

Take a look at the rice, it must not be too sticky👍

Place a clean pot on the fire
Pour in your vegetable oil
Add my onions and stir-fry
Add the spring onions
Add the green and red pepper
Add all the remaining veggies one after the other
Add the Seasoning, curry and thyme
Beware of salt to taste, remember salt is in the rice
Continue to stir on a low eat, this will make the fried rice last longer. Using a frying method for fried rice makes it last longer, unlike cooked fried rice like mixing everything from the start👌

IMG_20240331_060513_990.jpg
All the veggies are being fried a little bit.

After doing all the frying and stirring.
Scoop in the rice bit by bit
Mix with the veggies
Allow it to steam for some minutes
Then, your yummy fried rice is ready 👍👍👍👍👍

So yummy, there's nothing yummy as a well cooked and tasty fried rice😋

IMG_20240331_061223_697.jpg
Here comes my budget-friendly fried rice😋😋😋

The amount you are buying a plate of fried rice in an eatery can cook fried rice for 5people at home without breaking the bank👌 Please do away with delivery apps and maximize your culinary skills👍

I'm not an eatout person even when I'm tired, and starving at the same time, I still get to cook my food.

My response to the Hiveghana weekly contest.

All images are mine, taken directly from my kitchen.

Thanks for stopping by my post today, your opinion would be appreciated in the comment section.

Your's in 💕💕 @flourishandflora

Sort:  

Something caught my attention
The amount you guys used to buy fried rice can cook for 5 people?
Wow , then it is really expensive over there

Yes, one scoop of rice is five hundred naira. So, if you are buying a plate with chicken or meat, too expensive for me but some people like it like that🤔

Oh okay

I'll be the first person to motivate you when you go for a cook-a-thon😁😁😁 I also at the other hand like cooking no matter how tired I am when it comes to my stomach I can do anything for it, prepare that meal. It's cool to see someone like myself...

Wow, cook-a-thon here I come🤣my supporters are 100% on the ground 👍

It's cool to see someone like myself🤗🤗

This fried rice is a given, looks so inviting 😋. I'm not really a fan of fried rice, always jellof or stew. Eating home cooked meals are way better, healthier and cheaper than take outs. Left for me, some of them would have packed up.

Maybe I should invite you over for one, the craving won't just stop my dear.

A well-cooked fried rice is yummy 😋😋

Eating home-cooked meals is way better, healthier, and cheaper than take-outs. Left for me, some of them would have packed up. My thoughts too.

Well, for chefs, cooking their own dish will always be their first go-to because they know they can get their taste buds busy with the food they can recreate so it's understandable that you will chose cooking even when you're tired

The rice really looks amazing

Yes, I will any day anytime regardless of the situation around👍

Thanks for stopping by @sperosamuel15

You're welcome

Thinking about it, 5 cups of rice sounds more like breaking the bank😂😂 unless you’re cooking for the family.

This really looks quick and easy. In Ghana, we don’t really add corn to our meals. It’s for white people😅

That 5cups is for a family of 7 in my house. We dont eat too much🤣

This really looks quick and easy. In Ghana, we don’t really add corn to our meals. It’s for white people😅

Really? Nigerians are white then🤣🤣🤣

I thought as much because I know you can’t eat 5 cups.😂😂

Nigerians are rich people

If only me can finish 5cups of rice, then I would not complain about the economy 🤣🤣
We are rich o

😂😂😂haha