Home Made Meals or Takeouts

in HiveGhana3 months ago

IMG_20240204_133552_486.jpg

Home-made lunch versus takeouts

It's lunchtime, and your stomach is rumbling. Do you unleash your inner chef and whip up a delicious homemade meal, or do you succumb to the convenience and ease of takeout?

Homemade meals are awesome no doubt, but takeouts could also be a relish, they can come in handy when one doesn't have the luxury of time to whip up something pretty fast.

IMG-20201008-WA0009.jpg

While growing up, my mum always made our lunch for school and for days we were home. She always used to say that homemade meals are the best, they are healthy as you have control over the quality and quantity of the ingredients and also know the kind of environment they are made in, she also made us understand that they were also more economical and you could never argue with this last statement she always made, that homemade meals are made with a little bit of love here and there, and I for one cannot argue with this.

We only used to have takeouts if we actually went out lol, and this was usually on some occasions, when going out to treat ourselves was necessary. My mum always loved to cook, so whipping up something delicious and fast was not a problem for her, she could literally make a meal out of any ingredient and it would taste super nice.

So as an adult who is solely responsible for herself, I also love to whip up my own lunch, breakfast, or lunch dinner by myself, while preparing my meal I sort of have this “me time” where I can have conversations with myself, it has this calming effect, and I would say most of the times I make my meals by myself.

IMG-20231216-WA0014.jpg

A few days ago, I was having a conversation with my neighbor, and I found out that he hadn't made a single meal in his apartment since he moved in October, I was visibly shocked, it was written all over my face. I had to ask him why, and he said he didn't even have any kitchen utensils, not a stove, or plate, nada, he had nothing. I had to ask him how he was surviving, he said he goes out to have his meals every single day. Although this is what happens to most people every day, I cannot really say I relate to this. I know most times when I'm tired and feeling lazy to make my meals, I just order some takeouts, but this happens occasionally, not like it's a full-time thing.

As a homemade meal lover, I advised him to try to first get most of the basic kitchen utensils and appliances as he might have a need for them one day. I also tried to preach to him about some of the advantages of making his meal, even if not all, but at least sometimes, as he told me that he could cook.

IMG-20240214-WA0006.jpeg

So as much as I like to make my own meals, I won't entirely rule out takeouts as they could come in handy as they are easy and convenient, just a phone call or a few buttons on your device away.

Thanks for stopping by 🥰🥰🥰

All images are mine except otherwise stated

Sort:  

Of course, we can’t entirely rule out take outs because sometimes we’re just so tired and hungry to even do anything in the kitchen
Sometimes your brain won’t even be working well so you’d just have to order

Yeah I agree with you, as much as I am a lover of home made meals, I can't rule out the relevance of takeouts during those times when we're tired.

Yeah exactly

I love homemade foods maybe because I love cooking.
Takeout food has its own place though.

Personally, I think none can supersede the other, they both have their relevance. Thanks for reading 🤗

Most of our parents then have their own store or full house wife so they have all the time to prepare our meals but now we have to take responsibility over them and work, so I understand that we do not have that time to cook like them.

Yeah, thanks for stopping by.

I do the two depending on my mood and if I have the time, but in all we just have to do what works for us.

Exactly, one has to do what works for him/her

While preparing my meal I sort of have this “me time” where I can have conversations with myself, it has this calming effect.

That's how it is for me too. It's called mindful cooking:)

As a homemade meal lover, I advised him to try to first get most of the basic kitchen utensils and appliances as he might have a need for them one day.

Good advice, and it's great that you did not try to preach to him:)

That's how it is for me too. It's called mindful cooking
I think that's the correct way to describe it, thank you for stopping by.

Is that even possible? Not cooking any meals since October. I mean it is normal to go for takeouts but relying on it everyday that is just beyond ordinary. I also prefer homemade food because it is economical and I love cooking.

Pop in from #dreemport
#Dreemerforlife

This was exactly my thought as well, but after I spoke with him, the last time I heard, he said he's getting his kitchen stuffs.

Nice article dear, personally I prefer home made meals tho. But at times take outs are inevitable .

Yeah, I totally agree.

I am shock to hear that there are some people who are yet to make a home made meal in their apartment. That's really hard to take in.. Like why?..

You did well preaching to him to get these things. It's really important to have them at home cos they might come in handy some day.

When should I come over so you can prepare something for me.. You already sold yourself away with your tantalising pictures. Now I know you are a great cook

It's great that you shared your perspective with your neighbor and encouraged him to consider incorporating homemade meals into his routine.