The Fickle Nature Of Human Kind

in HiveGhana14 days ago

I just sensed something serious the moment I heard my phone ring five days ago and the caller was my Mom.

Usually, she does not call us that early, her calls to check on us start from 10 am, when she knows I would be possibly done with my morning activities and be less busy. So on seeing her calling as early as 6 am, I knew something serious was going on at home.

Hello, ma;

"Hello dear, how are you all doing over there?"

We are fine Mom, how are you back at home?

Her next response after our usual exchange of pleasantry sends a cold shiver down my spine, and tears down my cheeks.

She narrated how her younger brother, my youngest uncle, had gotten involved in a car accident on his way down to our hometown the previous night and was battling for his life at the hospital.

The same accident claimed the lives of three other passengers on the spot. The first words that came out of my mouth were "why us", then I thought of those three who lost their lives and I began to be grateful to God for still keeping my uncle alive. It's not as if he is more righteous than them but he was just designed to still have some time left with us. I said a prayer to keep him safe and heal all his wounds.

Though he is still in the hospital bed at this moment, I am grateful he started responding to treatment, and the doctors have assured us of his good recovery.

According to how terrible the accident was, I do not know if it was pure luck that he is alive, if his time on this earth has not expired, or a pure miracle from God. Whichever way I'm truly grateful.

It came as a rude shock that someone I spoke with, a day before the said journey and who was so lively and cheerful like usual when we spoke on the phone, is now lying critically in a hospital bed.

photo-1533158165527-63796a27c752.jpegImage from Unsplash

My heart goes to the accident victims' families who never knew that going out that day would be the end of their loved ones. I prayed they would find the strength and courage to move past such a sudden great loss. I hope time will ease their pains And that the departed souls find a perfect resting place.

photo-1487530811176-3780de880c2d_1.jpegImage from Unsplash

Incidents like this further remind me of how fickle human life is. Some moment we could be here, vibrant and full of life and the next moment we can be gone, it is now left to us what we choose to do between the lines.

So, if there is one single thing I am very grateful for at this moment, among other blessings from above to my family and me, it is that my uncle survived that terrible accident.

Though, this is a very difficult moment for him and my extended family in general I believe we shall overcome this very huddle.

There is one thing about a grateful heart, no matter how things get, there is still one or more things to be grateful for in our lives, and the moment we learn how to focus on that, even a difficult situation can seem easy. And gradually things have a way of falling into the right place the moment we learn to stop focusing on the negative side. A grateful heart is a happy heart🥰

This is my participation in the #hiveghana weekly engagement topic, talking about something very important I am grateful for this moment.

Thank you so much for reading my story, do have a great time at your end.

Bye-bye

Sort:  

Congratulations @funshee! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 39000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 40000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Unveiling the BuzzParty Meetup 2024 Badge

Thank you so much HB

Go for it, @funshee! Set your sights on that new target and keep pushing forward. Remember, every small step brings you closer to your goal.

Being alive and witnessing the dawn of every day is indeed something to be grateful for because it's not by our own making.
Thank goodness your uncle was saved from the accident.

Thank you Sis🙏, we are very happy he survived the accident

This reminds me of a journey i embarked on some time ago, on the express, a Toyota camery car drove passed us, we were all shouting the the bus i was on how the speed of that car was too much.
Still delibrating, the next thing we heard was a loud crash. On same express, that very Toyota camery crushed with the road divider that separates both lane. The man driving died at the spot, only the only man at the passenger sit survived.

The worst part was, he was on a call with his wife, and his wife was screaming "hello, hello" over the phone.. I can't describe the goosebumps i felt that day.
In all, we should indeed be greatful for life, thank God your uncle is safe.

That must have been a scary thing to experience on the highway.

Some drivers can be very reckless, imagine someone on a high speed and still making a call on top of the wheel.

I could only imagine the emotional trauma of the said wife.

Thank you very much about my uncle, we are hoping for the best. !LUV

toryfestus, funshee sent you LUV. 🙂 (3/4) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Thank God for your uncle's life. Knowing that three other people died on the spot of the accident and he's still alive, shows the amount of God's mercy on him. It's a great privilege to be alive and breathing. I pray he recovers soon 🙏.

I can't just imagine the pain the families of the deceased ones will be going through currently. May God console their broken hearts.

#Dreemerforlife.

Thank you so much ma'am, it was a big miracle for us. 🙏🙏

And amen to your prayers to the bereaved families.

Thank you very much, The chat option on the #ecency app sounds great.

You should enable that feature, it's really cool cause now you can connect with all your friends without switching to another site. 😊

Alright, I will try it out🥰🙏

Human life is so fickle, one minute you see someone giggling and happy, the next minute, you hear that he is gone forever. You see, I used to be grateful to God all the time that the route others passed and claimed their lives is the same route I pass and nothing is wrong. Being grateful is important.

I pray that your uncle receives perfect recovery and it's something one needs to be grateful for. Among others, he is still alive. Only God understands 🙏

Thank you dear Princess, you are right, all that is sure is now, may God continue to keep us safe.

And my family and I are very grateful. !LUV

princessbusayo, funshee sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/4) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Amen 🙏
You are welcome.

Oh dear I hope he fully recovers fully soon, and my heart goes out to the families of everyone who passed away.

Thank you so much Uncle T, he is still at the hospital and he is getting better.

Big amen to your prayer for the bereaved families. !LUV

tengolotodo, funshee sent you LUV. 🙂 (3/4) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Such occurrences scare me so much. One minute you could be talking to a person and the next minute, they are gone. Thank goodness your uncle survived.

Yeah, such is the way of life.

Thank you Sis, I'm thankful my uncle survived. !LUV

wongi, funshee sent you LUV. 🙂 (2/4) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

You are most welcome.

I’m really glad that he’s still alive

Wait, is it the one you wrote about sometime ago that he followed friends and his temper and got into an accident?
Or it wasn’t you

Thank you Sis,

No that wasn't me.

Oh okay

Oh okay

Oh oh we’re so sorry about your uncle.
We hope he recovers as fast and soon as people. We’re indeed grateful for his life.

Thank you very much, I'm indeed grateful.

I pray for his quick recovery and I also pray that the soul of those departed through the mercy of God rest in peace.. Amen

Thank you so much and amen to your prayers.