Procrastination made me miss an important tutorial

in HiveGhana9 months ago

Procrastination has always been something I tend to experience, I don't like it when I procrastinate but I still watch myself falling into the hands of this negative habit. Procrastination has led to the death of many people and this isn't good at all because it has gotten to the extent where it takes people's lives.

I remember when I was about to buy a phone for myself in a big phone and phone accessories center in Nigeria known as Callus Miller. I was supposed to buy this phone in the morning that day because I really need a phone that I can use to attend an online tutorial the following day exactly 8am.

I was supposed to even buy this phone the week before this tutorial day but I kept on procrastinating as if the money to purchase this smartphone wasn't complete. I was just so lazy to go out of the house, board a bus and go to the phone center. I did this till Thursday which was the day before the tutorial day.

Thursday came and I fully made up my mind that I will purchase this phone that day, is not just because I decided to face this procrastination of a thing one-on-one, it was due to the fact that the tutorial day was so much closer and I was still suffering from the negative habit.

Ok now I ate breakfast that Thursday and was supposed to go to the place in the morning but I began to watch an interesting movie in the sitting room, telling myself that I still have enough time to go to the place. I began to watch television from 10am-1pm that day. I was tired of watching movies so I went to the kitchen to see if I can get something to eat because my breakfast meal was very light.

I entered the kitchen and took more than 7 bananas and ate them in the sitting room. I then went outside to observe things happening in my environment. I saw few guys playing football and I checked the time and discovered that it was few minutes past 2am. I said to myself again that I still have time. I began to play football and I played till few minutes to 4pm.

I entered the house and my dad asked me if I wasn't going to buy the phone again and I told him I will buy it. My sister who wasn't at home since morning, said she taught I have already gone to buy it. I laughed and told her that I went to play football.

I took my bath and was very tired so I decided to sleep, I wasn't even serious that day, procrastination almost made me miserable that particular day. Can you imagine that I slept till 5:25pm. After checking the time I shouted, wore my clothes and ran straight to the place because they normally close by 6pm.

I arrived at the place by 6:10 hoping that they will pity me and sell the phone or they might increase the price because I arrived late but nobody was even looking at my face, they all said they have closed and they can't attend to anybody till the next day. I felt very bad because they normally sell the phone I want cheap and other places do sell it at anl very expensive rate.

I couldn't even buy the phone the next day in the morning because the time for the tutorial was 8am and I won't still meetup if I buy the phone in the morning and Callus Miller opens by 8am as well. From that day I became a very disciplined guy but I do suffer from procrastination sometimes. Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Congratulations @kelvvyn! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 20 posts.
Your next target is to reach 30 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Most at times, we feel we have more time so we tend to lazy around till the last minute. If only we were to be a bit more disciplined all this will be prevented. Well, you learnt your lesson so I guess you’re doing better now.

Wave Media

Thanks so much for your comment, I have improved a bit