The sleep schedule that keeps me sharp.

in HiveGhana19 days ago

premium_photo-1661774796613-e744c2dc0467.jpeg

Sleep is one of those things which cannot be divorced from the rest of life. We all need it to stay sane, sharp and to survive. However, every time I talk with people and they find out about my sleep schedule, they think it's weird how I spend very few hours sleeping each day without losing my mind.

To be fair, I really don't sleep as much as the next dude and I don't buy into the "humans need 8 hours of sleep daily" statement. I just can't do that even if I wanted to. I know there have been moments when I tried sleeping for very long hours and the way my body reacted after waking up isn't what most people experience with theirs.

In my case, sleeping for a very long time makes me feel like I'm sick. It makes my body feel lazy and I don't enjoy that feeling. Obviously, that's what works for me and I came to that conclusion after several years of living through several experiences.

So, what does my sleep schedule look like?

The best way to put it is that I don't usually "go to sleep". Instead, I allow myself to get "knocked down by sleep". What I mean by that is that I struggle to just go to bed and beg sleep to come. Think about that for a moment and see if it makes any sense to you.

What I usually do is to get really busy when I'm awake and when my body and mind are all worn out by tiredness, sleep naturally comes to say HI. For example, I was working on a particular stuff when I finally slept off last night. I wasn't even sure of when I slept off but I know that the earliest I ever go to bed is by 1:30am. That's the earliest.

Funny enough, even when I go to bed by 4am, I still wake up very early. You can define what "very early" means to you. Lol.

Is this a healthy approach to sleep?

Probably not!

However, that's just how it works for me and I stay sharp whenever I'm awake. I probably became accustomed to this sleeping schedule during my days in boarding school. We had lights out set at 10pm and 11pm for junior and senior secondary school students.

I had that habit of staying up after lights out and having discussions with my mates in the dormitory. There were moments when attempts were made to force students to sleep once it was light out. However, that never became a part of me. Now, sleeping any moment before 1:30am has become something I experience once in a blue moon.

I don't think I will be changing this pattern anytime soon. Maybe when I become a rich dude. Haha.

Thanks For Not Missing Any Full-stop or Comma.
Thumbnail Image is taken from Unsplash

Sort:  

I enjoy sleep more when I am exhausted and I have just completed my tasks for the day.
I can quick sleep during the day to refill my energy too.

That's awesome. It always feels like sleeping in moments when we've finished what we have on the table makes it easier to relax and get a good rest.

That's right!

Mine is just to sleep early so I can wake up early

Haha... That works really well. Going to bed early always leads to rising early.

Don't you know that the rich gets Richer everyday as the hustle. If you get rich and stop working, then get ready for poverty to pay you a surprise visit. Hahahaha 🤣
Thanks for sharing

Haha... It's not easy oooo. The rich do not even have the time to sleep for longer than necessary. Haha.