Delicious Meals Without Breaking The Bank: My Simple Egusi soup Recipes

in HiveGhanalast month

Good afternoon everyone...
How are we doing today? It's been a while I participated in our weekly contest but I am fully back now... I was just waiting for the topic to be released and booooooom..... I saw 3 interesting topics but I have decided to write one today and then the rest some other days...

I saw much love the last topic which says. Share your go-to recipe for a delicious and speedy meal with us. Explore your creativity and budget-friendly ingredients. Let's inspire each other to do away with the delivery apps and whip up culinary masterpieces in no time and I am going to share with us student friendly method...

Egusi(melon)soup is one of my favorite And simplest soup I can prepare when I am starving or very famished... I might come back from school and then remember that I don't have food to eat at home, I will also be very much aware of how tired and stressful I am...
I can just enter the nearby market and get myself things for melon and I will cook it within 30 minutes

In today's post, I'll be sharing with us my favorite method of preparing melon soup.

IMG_20240419_171127_903.jpgmy photo

You don't even need too much ingredients before preparing it.... # These are my Ingredients
📌2 cups of egusi(melon)
📌1/2 palm oil
📌1/4 cup of water
📌Pepper
📌Crayfish
📌Handful of onions
📌Periwinkle
📌Kpomo
📌Smoked fish
📌Uziza leaf
All in student friendly amount

My Recipe

First of all I will boil my Kpomo, season it with salt, onions, seasoning cubes, water, I will also put my smoked fish to and cover it to cook for 4 to 5 minutes.
While doing that, I will blend my egusi(melon seeds) and also blend my pepper mix.

When the meat is done, I will then place my pot on my gas and put Palm oil, allow it to heat, I will process in puting crayfish and then fry it.. after 3 to 4 minutes, I will put my blended pepper mix and stir it and then I will season it with salt and beef cube (knor) I love using this particular cube for my soup, after that you allow it to fry again..for like 10 to 15 minutes.

I will proceed in adding my Kpomo water or just ordinary water then I will add my egusi paste.. cover it for a few minutes and allow it to fry.. I love clumpy melon soup... After it has fried for 15 to 20 minutes, i stir it and put my dried fish, Kpomo, periwinkle and add water again depending on the texture of the melon that you like.

Then you stir again, taste again and put everything in place, put more seasons or pepper if desired... I will proceed in puting my vegetable and my favorite is Uziza leaf then allow to cook again in no time your egusi soup will be ready.

IMG_20240419_171116_098.jpg
My soup was as delicious as the person who cooked it 🙈 nobody should please argue with me. I know them.

After it is ready, you can eat it with anything of your choice like ( Fufu, pounded yam,garri,semovita etc).

For me, that is my most fast and simpleest food to make oooo, even with the little amount of money you have.

I couldn't snap while making all the procedures and processes but this is the outcome of the soup

Thank you for stopping by ❣️
@mmenyene cares ❣️

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

We're one when it comes to agusi soup o.. It's one food i can't get tired of, but i love to mixed the leafs. I mean no matter the leaf am using, bitter leaf must be added for stomach sake..lol

Awwwwwwnnnn...
I don't really like bitter leaf oo
But melon Is the best of all

True. I myself haven't used zazi leaf before😅
It's mostly ugu then mixed with a little bitter leaf since i have a little trouble with stomach upset after eating vegetables.

Ohhhhh
I love Uziza because of the scent

Oh..okay
Very nice.

Your egusi soup is looking so nice and I'm sure the taste too will amazing

I never knew there was egusi soup
I thought just stew
And wow, it looks so yummy

But wait o, if I’m really hungry, by the time I finish making this I would have fainted o🤣

😅🤣😂😆
Wait first
First thing first
You did not know there was egusi soup ahbi you're joking??
I'm wowed😄😄

There’s no egusi soup in Ghana

Ohhhhh ma'am
I'm sorry
Forgive your baby

Haha, it’s fine

Secondly.... No matter how famished you are,
You can eat this in 15 minutes depending on how fast you are

Make or eat?

I go prepare am waybill it for you
You go chop ahbi you no go chop?

Haha, I’ll be waiting

Give me now till my wedding day

I love egusi soup but I can't really eat it 😞 unless I want to change my address to the toilet, growing up egusi was my best

🤣😅😂
Except they want to change your address to toilet
Wonderful

Steady purging

I will prefer changing my address than to stop eating egusi soup oo