What's with Baby Boys and Allergies?

in HiveGhana2 months ago

Hi guys,

It is another blessed day and the start of the weekend for which we have all been waiting, for quite some time now, I have been pretty much excited about the weekend, for a while now I have been all about work and some other duties I have forgotten how it feels to have no workload for the weekend.

IMG_4085.JPG

image by @nattybongo

And so for this weekend, I am looking forward to really enjoying myself and being at peace and staying indoors, watching some movies till I drop, eating lots of meals, and just feeling good, maybe sharing some stories from my other days here with you.

Anyway talking about stories and health, just at the end of my shift today I had a last-minute patient come in, a mother with her 4 months old baby boy, he was so damn cute I just couldn't stop smiling or admiring him, however, our baby boy has got mummy quite worried and this is not the first time I was seeing such a case so I said, hey, why not share this with y'all.


The Allergies


Now most of you may probably go like, well if it's just allergies almost everyone has one or two and it is not really anything right? Wrong, allergies are less menacing when one knows them and hence puts measures in place to avoid them for their own care. Now in the case of these amazing toddlers, they cannot really speak nor can they tell their discomfort and so their care is almost always a bit of a dicey situation.

From my years of work, internships, etc I have come to personally realize that boys growing up as babies tend to have a lot more allergic reactions as compared to girls, and more often than not they get their mummy worried sick, especially when the doctor has to tell the mother that she now has the full-time job of being highly meticulous and always on alert for whatever could be causing the baby's or toddler's reactions.

IMG_3984.JPG

image by @nattybongo

This was where I found myself today telling this very exhausted mother that despite all the symptoms the child is presenting after I am done treating him there is a very very high chance it would all start again. She would have to come and see me over and again until we found what could be causing the reactions. The worst part is that allergic reactions involving the eyes and the skin can range from a simple cotton or silk product to foods, dust, sponge, etc. And so she has a lot of work to do.

But then while this is not really scientific most patients tend to seek answers from me when I tell them that oh this is more common with the boys. So it is not much of a surprise, I want to solicit your random thoughts or opinions on why you think boys may be experiencing allergic and vernal conjunctivitis ever so often as compared to girls?

Anyway so this is just a heads up for us all, I know many of us ain't married yet or if married may not be planning babies, do not take your child's eyecare for granted, allergies would cause them to rub the eye introducing microbes which results in infections, if your child tends to be suffering from allergic or vernal conjunctivitis, do not be afraid to take him in for care every time it happens, it is better safe than sorry.


Conclusion


So... today was for the babies, more specifically the boys and I would definitely be looking forward to what you guys would have to share with me about this but until then I am really grateful to you dear reader for your time in going through this.

IMG_1394 (2).jpg

image by @nattybongo

It is always a pleasure to share, remember to prioritize your health, know that your eye is your body's light, love it, and do well by it, when in doubt always speak to a professional and please do well to avoid off-the-counter medication without proper care. Have a lovely weekend.

Sort:  

I never knew about this. I think the annoying thing about allergies is when you don’t even know the cause.
The boys should put some respect on our names😂
Now that I know God I beg o, no baby boy for me😂

Haha, its not every baby boy that get to experience that though and you would want a baby boy, guys make amazing siblings

Yea they do actually 🥹

So you gonna want a boy then lol

Thanks for your contribution to the STEMsocial community. Feel free to join us on discord to get to know the rest of us!

Please consider delegating to the @stemsocial account (85% of the curation rewards are returned).

You may also include @stemsocial as a beneficiary of the rewards of this post to get a stronger support. 
 

Thank you