Surviving Public Transportation

in HiveGhana28 days ago

Tuesdays and every other day I have to use public transport to get to my location are always nightmares for me. It’s even worse when I have to use the popular 18-seater buses instead of tricycles.

In my area, tricycles and motorcycles are the common means of transportation unless one is traveling out of state; then, there is the option of using buses and trains.

Motorcycles are a no-go for me whenever I am heading out, whether to the market, office, or any other place, considering the fact that they are more prone to accidents, the state of our roads, and how reckless the drivers can be. The drivers can be so reckless that you risk getting thrown into a puddle, leaving you stained and sometimes with serious injuries.

Rough and uneven roads make it even worse for these drivers to navigate. It's either potholes big enough to store a liter of water or excessive sand on the roads, which causes motorcycles to get stuck and, if not careful, can lead to serious accidents. One time, my neighbor was returning from a visit. She boarded a motorcycle, and as they were almost home, just a few miles from our house, they had an accident caused by the excess sand on the road. She had a deep cut on her calf and had to stay at home for almost a year to attend to her wounds.

There are more reasons why boarding motorcycles is never an option. Imagine dressing up for work, neat and nice-looking, only to be hurled into a puddle of rubbish before arriving at your destination. The frustration and pain associated with it are indescribable, not to mention the days you're running late and need to get to your destination as fast as possible. And let's not even talk about the high risk of being left with a broken arm or other severe injuries.

Buses, on the other hand, are not as popular as motorcycles and tricycles, and I don’t use them often. I have had some not-so-nice encounters with boarding buses. When I mention buses, I am not talking about luxurious ones with very comfortable seats, armrests, and headrests. Far from that. I mean the rickety old, frail ones with missing doors and windows, bad exhaust, worn-out seats, and broken lights. Yes, those are the ones.

Despite the poor condition of these buses, overcrowding is a persistent issue that drivers continue to allow. The buses are often packed with passengers and goods beyond it's capacity, making the journey very uncomfortable and unsafe. Last year, I had to visit and stay for some time with one of my sisters, who had just given birth, to help out. Once, she gave me a list of items to buy from the market. As someone who was not familiar with their means of transportation, I wasn’t aware that tricycles, my preferred means of transportation, were available there. Ignorant of this, I boarded the popular red bus, not knowing I had just signed up for the worst experience.

First, each seat was supposed to hold four people, but the driver, out of greed, insisted it was five, and since there were no other options, we had to comply. It was the worst decision ever. We were packed into the bus like hopeless chickens about to be sold. The loud engine noises and the excessive pollution emitted from the bus’s bad exhaust system made the discomfort even worse. It took every bit of self-control not to pass out. When we alighted, I couldn’t feel my legs; they were numb due to not having enough leg space. It was the worst encounter, and I vowed never to use a public bus again.

Public transportation in my area is nothing but a pain in the ass. The damaged roadways, reckless motorcyclists, and rickety old buses make it even worse to enjoy a smooth ride. I really admire those who have their personal vehicles; they only have to worry about the condition of the roads. Tricycles offer a tiny hope for people like me who don’t have their own vehicles and won’t board either motorcycles or buses.

Even though tricycles have their own disadvantages, they are much better than using motorcycles and buses. At least in tricycles, you have enough legroom and minimal space, which are not available in buses and motorcycles. However, a pro tip is to avoid boarding one with lots of kids, not to share a seat with the driver, and to avoid sitting next to larger passengers.

Credits thumbnail from freepik

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Oh really? I didn’t know that motorcycles are so risky in your area. In the northern part of Ghana, it’s definitely a one sure way for transportation and the number of accidents associated with it are even lesser as compared to cars

Guess what works for one person might not work for another. I only use bikes for short trips within local streets, not on main roads. I'm scared of falling, and I know people who have had accidents on bikes. Some motorcyclists don't care about the bad roads and speed on anyway, which makes it even more dangerous.

Oh okay that’s understandable

Motorcycles are banned in my area, and to be honest, it is for the best. The last time I was on a motorcycle, the only thing I remember is that I was very uncomfortable.

Because of the high accident rate caused by motorcyclists, they are banned from using major roads and highways in my area too.