Education for All: Let's Focus on Learning, Not Gender Separation

in HiveGhanalast month

I attended an all girls senior high school and I would say the experience wasn’t bad at all. When I first got admitted I thought to myself how weird it would be to sit in a class with only girls. I was used to sitting in a class with guys and all of that so that sounded new to me.

I expected everything to be weird but when I started school, the environment was more than normal. I was a day student and so I didn’t really have to stay with only girls for months. I only had to sit in class and interact with ladies for about 6-9 hours everyday. I can’t say same for those in the boarding house.

Things were different in single sex senior high school as compared to when I was in a mixed junior high school. I mean , the girls didn’t care at all. In my first year, we were thought basic stuff every lady should know. Like how to walk, how to dress and even how to climb stairs. We thought it was silly at first but it was really helpful trust me.Most of the girls didn’t put them to use on the school premises. Why? Because there were no guys, so who cares!

I think that being in a single sex school makes you feel too comfortable. Imagine a lady sitting with her legs wide open. When she’s confronted she goes like ‘ what are you going to see that you don’t have?’. Sounds funny, but it’s the truth. You’d be surprised when you see some of these girls outside during vacation. All specked up and walking nicely.😂

Everything has its pros and cons and schooling is no exception. In single sex schools, students don’t really get the opportunity to build relationships and interact with people from the other gender. Imagine living with ladies for 3 to 4 months straight with just a few days break. Some of these people go out there and have challenges interacting with the other gender and even building relationships with them.

There’s also the issue of homosexuality. I didn’t believe this at first but I saw it happen right in my face. Imagine being ushered into lesbianism with food. Most of these students get lured into homosexuality through petty stuff they lack. If you’re someone with no self discipline you’d be gone before you realize. Imagine sending your kid to school to study only for he or she to return a homosexual .

Talking about mixed sex schools, most students eventually end up loosing focus on their main goal due to adolescence and hormones. Single sex schools on the other hand might help the student focus more. Regardless, I believe a student would be focused no matter where he or she finds herself.

Also, I think that there’s so much competition in the mixed schools as compared to single sex schools. This might be good and bad at the same time depending on the individual.

Even in mixed sex schools, we also hear of the issue of homosexuality and this drives me back to the fact that a people do what they want to do regardless of where they find themselves.

The main purpose of schooling is to provide us with an opportunity to gain some knowledge. Whether the school is a single or mixed sex school doesn’t really matter. A focused mind is never disturbed. People attend either single or mixed sex schools and they turn out fine eventually. It all has to do with the individual and his or her values. You don’t see fire and step into it.


all images belong to me.


Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

The purpose of going to school is learning. I love how you point to the fact that, we need to focus more on the essence of schooling

That’s right. We seen to have lost the reason behind schooling. Single sex or mixed sex is still school.

Congratulations on a job well done! We are thrilled to see the outstanding results you've achieved. Your dedication and hard work have truly paid off, and it's inspiring to witness the impact you've made. Keep up the fantastic work, and know that your contributions are valued and appreciated.

Thank you so much. I really appreciate it!

But really, who will say “what will you see that you don’t have some?”
Eyyy people are in this world 🤣🤣

That’s what they say ooo.😂😂