Let's Talk Customer Service in Ghana

in HiveGhana2 months ago

About two days ago, I walked into a shop closer to my house to buy some stuff and I even regretted it. I got there around 5:50 because I was just coming back from work. Believe me when I tell you that as at 6:10 , I was still standing at the shop. I was really angry to the extent that I just had to sit down before all hell breaks loose. As I was there, one lady also came to buy something and what she told me was, ‘ this shop if you come here you’ll have to spend almost 30 minutes here before you get what you want.’

I really don’t know if the owners of the shop don’t know how to deal with people or they’re just overwhelmed by the number of people trooping in and out all the time. Sometimes I am able to understand these people cos my mom used to own a shop and I was in charge of handling it most of the time. But when it comes to this shop, I think it’s an everyday thing for them and so I’ve planned never to go there again.

When it comes to customer service, Ghanaian businesses are very terrible at it. Imagine walking into a bank to withdraw or deposit your own money. And these bank tellers will be giving you all sorts of attitude. Sometimes I tell myself I don’t blame them. It’s me that came to keep my money with them. I really get pissed all the time when it comes to banking in Ghana. Anytime you visit a bank, be sure to come out angry.

Hell, even market women are not left out. Sometimes I feel some of these vendors don’t understand how shopping works. I need your goods and you need my money. It’s a give and take situation. I’m not supposed to buy from you, I only choose to buy from you if I think your goods are of high quality. You walk over to a vendor to ask for the price of what she’s selling and when you don’t buy from her she starts to insult you. Once I experienced a fight between one young lady and a market woman just because of something like this. It wasn’t my business but I enjoyed the show though.😂

When it comes to our public sector, it’s even worse. The level of disrespect you receive from some of the people in the government offices, especially the ladies isn’t something to write home about. You’d walk in looking to get help with something and they’d be sitting there chewing gum anyhow and looking at you with one eye. They wouldn’t even pay attention to you when you talk to them. And just when you get their attention, they refer to someone else and that’s how you get tossed up and down until the energy in you is drained.

Our hospitals also have the same story, especially when it comes to the nurses. Nurses in Ghana are known for insulting and maltreating their patients. Though there are good ones out there, most of them are know for this act. How can someone who’s supposed to take care of you shout at you and even insult you for no reason. It’s really heartbreaking to watch this happen but some of these patients don’t really have a choice. As for me, if any nurse dares raise her voice at me, she will hear from me.

Dealing with people can be hectic at times, but that doesn’t give one the go ahead to treat them anyone. Let’s not forget that what goes around , comes around. Most of these workers carry so much hate in their heart from all the problems they have at home and even in their life. They then use any opportunity they get at work to put their frustrations on poor people. We need to do better as individuals because the change we want starts from us. No matter how a company trains its employees on good customers service, if the employees are not willing to change, the story still remains the same. A happy customer is a returning customer.


all images belong to me.


Sort:  

hehe, even here to we have some of these things, though its not common in the market (probably cause competition is always high), but in hospital and bank it is something else.Its usually the older ones, you'd be surprised they'd be nicer to their peers. Hopefully, things change as generations change hand

It all starts from our mindset. I hope things get better with time.

I see this happen a lot actually over here, so maybe it's an African thing. Maybe the fact that there are no CCTVs or you can't call someone to order makes them feel invincible.

I need your goods and you need my money. It’s a give and take situation.

This is very important cause tell me why they keep acting like I'm begging them or asking for something on credit. We're both helping each othe out yet you act like it's a superior-subordinate relationship.

Whether cctv or not, I will put you in your place. As for me I don’t tolerate bs.

They should keep their goods, we will also keep our money.😂

Some nurses just behave as if they are possessed. They didn't force them to the jobs or go to school. why can't they just have empathy for their patients.

It’s like their attitude and their job are just the opposite. It shall be well.

I have a friend that wants to work as a teller so that she can give attitude to nurses when they come there just because of what she has experienced 😂😂

That’s right. She should go for it.😂
I’m rooting for her.

You enjoyed the show?
😂😂
You are lucky nobody slapped you

Oh don’t even talk about nurses… we can write 200 pages about them

If someone had slapped me then it would be double show.😂

Someone needs to teach one of those nurses a lesson.

You can teach them the lesson
I trust you😂

I will.😂

Congratulations @nhaji01! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Happy Birthday to the Hive Blockchain

I guess some of the hem don't know that a happy customer always returns

I’m sure they know, they just don’t care.

Okay let's put It that way.

All this shop owners once they have much people to patronize them, they find it crazy and difficult to serve you better.