The Art of Taking Responsibility

in HiveGhanalast month

In the part of the world where I grew up, grown ups were always right. I grew up watching older people get away with stuff just because they are older. Anytime one of my older siblings or cousins did something to me , instead of them apologizing, they’d rather make fun of me and all I was being told was to not mind them. It was more of a cycle if you ask me.

Even though we are older now, I bet you most of us think it’s okay to do stuff that would hurt others and not apologize for it. I’ve met people who find it so difficult to apologize when they are wrong. It’s more like they feel too big to apologize for their wrongs. I sometimes wonder what world we are living in.

Growing up in some cultural settings can really fuck things up for people if you ask me. Growing up, my mom would always apologize to me if she did something I didn’t like and she made my siblings and I do same to each other. I can’t say same for other people. Some parents just do stuff and think they get to get away with it because they’re the parents.

As a parent, your kids learn first hand from you. Whatever you do at home and in their presence as they grow up is what they would see to be the norm. I wouldn’t want to raise my kids to think that not accepting that they are wrong is okay. We are human and we can’t be always right. The best we can do is accept that we did something wrong and make amends.

I once had some issues with people I was really close to and after some time, they started to act like everything was okay when in actual sense everything wasn’t okay. Up till today, they still keep acting like things are normal but to me, things are not normal. There are some people who can just look over things like they didn’t happen and I wouldn’t say I’m one.

Instead of ignoring the problem at hand, I prefer to face it head on. Sit and address the issue like normal human beings. You can’t keep avoiding it forever. The world is evolving and I think that as humans, we also need to evolve.

We can’t keep sticking to the old ways till they kingdom come. It’s okay to do something wrong and it’s totally okay to apologize. That’s what makes us human.


all images belong to me.


Sort:  

Congratulations @nhaji01! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Parents are the first model any child can have and hence the need to raise them well by living a good standard legacies.
Awesome post

That’s true. Kids learn the most from their parents, so we need to be good mentors to them.

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

I also can’t like nothing happened if something happened, especially if the person is someone close. The moment I act like nothing happened too it definitely means I’m not even interested in the friendship.

It’s the same with me. I’ll just ghost you and that will be it.😂