The Ordeal Of Getting a Passport In Ghana: Lessons Learned

in HiveGhana13 days ago

Recently, there happen to be so much talks around obtaining a Ghanaian passport. Can you believe the passport office in Ghana all of a sudden decided to increase the prices of passport outrageously.

I believe that the whole reason for all the complaints from all citizens was the fact that securing a passport in Ghana today is not easy at all. It’s more about who you know and not about when you applied. This morning, met a classmate who applied for a passport somewhere May 2023 and up till today she hasn’t received it. Funny enough, another of our mates who applied for his passport about a month ago was called to pick up his today. What a world we live in.

There are so many opportunities out there today and I’m surprised there are still people above the age of 17 out there who still don’t have a travelling passport. For me, I learnt my lesson the hard way some years ago. My dad would always tell me to visit the passport office and start the application process because I never know when an opportunity will arise. Being who I am, I would always tell him I will do it when I’m home on vacation. That was my line up until I found myself in hot soup.

So, it happened that I had to travel in about a month and a half time and I needed to secure my visa and all of that. How on earth can I secure a visa when I didn’t even have a passport to show.😂😂 It all happened like a movie because I suffered a lot. I had to travel from school to the house almost every week and at some point I just decided to be at home because even if I went back to school I would be called to come back the next day or two.

Luckily for me, my dad has his connect so we started the whole process but funny enough, I was still using an old birth certificate. I now had to get an updated one. I applied for it and payed extra money for it to be delivered the next day, thanks to my dads connect.😂😂 Can you imagine my gender was male when the certificate came. I complained and the guy told me to send it like that and that if I’m lucky they might overlook it. Unfortunately for me, I’m never lucky.😂 I was told to go and correct the gender and come back. That delayed my appointment for about a week.

After the mistake was rectified, I had my biometrics taken and once again, my dads connect did his part by printing the booklet.😂 In about 48 hours, I had my passport and think took me almost 2 months. Now, I had my passport but my visa appointment was delayed.

I had already given up but my dad had another connect who helped me secure an appointment for a fee of almost $1000. I told my dad to forget about it cos the money was too much but he didn’t care. He still payed and I had my interview and in a week time, my visa was ready.

I was really happy everything worked out well but on the other hand, I had spent a lot of money and gone through so much stress just to get to that point. I’ve learnt my lessons now so I always advise people to make sure they secure a passport as early as they can because in Africa, with everyday that passes prices are rising.


This is my entry for day 24 of the #Aprilinleo prompt. I hope you enjoyed it. To take part you can check it out here


all images belong to me.


Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Man my baby’s daddy is an odogwu oo🤣. Hold on, do you mean 1000 cedis or 1000 dollars.

Man that’s a lot now. Just for a visa appointment which you are not even sure of getting. But am glad it worked out for you.

In this Ghana everything is about who knows you oo not who you know. Even for something you have money and pay for genuinely they still have a way of stressing you out.

Well we are going out into the world now and I think we learn as we move forward.

If it was 1000 cedis I could have paid it myself.😂😂 Go to American embassy with 1000gh and they will use it to slap your face.😂😂😂

They say everything in life is a risk.😅

Honestly, the system is so rigged that we can’t even do things the right way anymore.

That’s right, everyone should pick his mind .😂😂

Oh masa imagine 1000 at that time oo🤣. Now if I go there they will say I should pay 3000 dollars.

Ah and all this was just to book an appointment for a visa or you were assured that after the payment you’ll get it automatically?

They will take your whole life savings.😂😂

Just for appointment oo. If you don’t get, that’s your loss.😂

https://inleo.io/threads/nhaji01/re-nhaji01-2xxkgjevo
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( nhaji01 ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

After reading the post, I could smell rich kids coming from it.
I never knew getting passport will be this difficult in Ghana but connection is the goal 😅😅
Babe, getting passport in Ghana is very similar with that of Nigeria. I think I should get mine too because I’ll be traveling soon. My dad have said this more than 50times now 😫😫

Rich kid with hard labor 😂😂😂

Everything in Africa is difficult. Please try and get your soon.

Heheh
I’ll do that. I’ll get mine soon.

Hard labor😏😏😏
Ok.

That’s good.

Go and reply my message on discord please.😂

Awwwwwww
My baby
I’m sorry I haven’t opened discord this week

And here I am, with a passport I don’t need for anything. I just randomly take it out from my drawer to admire it and put it back😂. My only concern is that, it shouldn’t expire before I actually get to use it.

😂😂passport has now turn to decoration. It is well.