No Trust No Problem

in HiveGhana8 months ago
Hello Friends,

jpg_20230901_183811_0000.jpg
Canva Design

A very lovely week to interact and share my thoughts with the great minds of the Hive Community. Let me start by saying kudos to the active admin and moderators of the Hive Ghana's community.

Trust is a very important concept especially in relationships between two or more people. People put their confidence and reliance on other people's shoulders, but most of the time this confidence and future hopes are cut short by one party.

I appreciate @hive.ghana for bringing this up, as this concept have caused alot of heartbreaks and bitterness in our society. Let me share my view on the concept of trust, and why I think no trust equates no problem.



My View And Experience On Trust

When someone says he trusts a particular person or group of people, he gives them the permission and ability to decide how the future would be between them.

Before a person would say I trust you, it means he or she has seen something unique and appropriate about the way you have handle events in the past.

divorce-619195_1280.jpg
Free From Pixabay

For instance, I have a friend whom I have worked with for many years, and during the cause of our friendship, I have seen him avoided stealing other people's property, as he strongly believes in Karma (what you do to others is what they would do to you).

Having seen that this my friend is good and won't necessarily hurt me, I can entrust my money and belongings to him and presume that he would not steal them, neither would he make me regret my decision of trusting him.

But for the average humans in our society today, trust is just a word with no true definition, because they believe no one can be trustworthy. To some extent I agree with such people even though I know they are still some trustworthy people.

I have trusted and believed so much on people in the past, and it all ended up in hurts. I was carefree and open to everyone, but I have discovered that it usually ends up teaching me a lesson.

Although they are still some trustworthy people, I still subconsciously think that everyone has a limit to how trustworthy they could be, as we humans tend to take advantage of those whom have trusted us (sometimes we take advantage on them unintentionally).


Below is a scenarios where I trusted someone and he ended up breaking that trust. This were the times I had no trust issues, as I believed everyone had good intentions in them, but It turned out bitter.


I Trusted A Friend With My Hive Keys

I know you would say that was foolishness, but the truth of the matter was that I didn't know he had the keys to my Hive wallet not until he did the unthinkable and stole all my Hive tokens.

Elon was a friend I introduced to the Hive platform, and I taught him alot on how to grow and become useful in the platform. Like I said, I trusted him then because I thought he was a true friend.

connection-4802578_1280.jpg
Free From Pixabay

He would occasionally ask for my phone to transfer movies or applications. I would carelessly unlock my phone and give it to him to do the transfers without any form fear or distrust in me.

It was on one of these transfers of movies and application, that he transferred my Hive keys to his phone which was in the form of a PDF file.

After a few days of this transfer, he logged in to my wallet and broke my trust. He didn't just take away the liquid tokens, but he went as far as powering down my account.

When I first logged in to my wallet and saw what was going on, I was heartbroken and sorrowful. I hadn't known who was responsible for this evil act, but I was determined to find out who the culprit was.

I immediately changed my password and keys, and I stopped the power down. I was lucky enough to find out who the culprit was, as I copied the wallet address of the transaction and searched it on a search engine.

It popped up that my friend was the owner of that address, as he had recently used it for his personal transactions. I went to his house and we had a fight. I recovered my tokens, but I lost the trust I had for that my friend, and many other friends that came after him.


So far, I have had many heartbreaks due to relationship and trusts in the past. It's now clear to me that trusting someone is very risky and even though it is usually okay, we should still be very careful.

I even think it's better not to trust anyone, atleast to be on a safer side. Hence the topic, "no trust, no problem". Because I believe if we do not put our confidence on someone else, they wouldn't have anything to break.

Thanks for your time here.