Grateful heart

in HiveGhana15 days ago

Hello, everyone.

There are lots of things we take for granted that we actually ought to be grateful for. If you are healthy and outside the hospital, you will always underestimate the gift of life and the ability to breathe without needing any medical equipment or aid to help you. As a healthy individual, the oxygen you use is free; people in the hospital pay heavily for it. Sometime ago, I was admitted to a federal medical center, and the few days I spent there changed my perspective about life and how I see a lot of things.

designed in canva.

Sometimes we feel every blessing ought to be financial, and if we don't get blessed financially, we feel like there is nothing to be grateful for, but that is wrong. There are millions of things to be grateful for aside from finances, and a lot of these things we ought to be grateful for we underestimate. Just hit the street and see for yourself, or in your spare time, visit the emergency room of any hospital near you. I doubt you will come out the same.

I got bitten by a snake and spent about 6 days in the hospital. The things I saw in the hospital can't be described. People are dying every day, families are weeping over their deaths, people are not being able to breathe without an oxygen tank, people are not being able to walk, and you think finances are the only thing you should be grateful for? I was once like that; I only thought about financial blessings and never thought the other things I enjoy were a privilege too. I was thinking it was my right until I spent the few days I spent in the hospital. Now I am grateful for a lot of things.

I am grateful for family.

I might not come from a very rich home, but I am forever grateful for the family I was born into. My parents are hard-working and resilient, and they sacrificed even their own happiness to see to it that we get all that we need. We have been through a lot of ups and downs, but our unity sees us through whatever the world throws at us. Even in my next life, I still want the same family, for they are the best thing that happened to me. I have been sick countless times to the point of being so close to death, but they never gave up on me. I owe them everything.

I am grateful for my health and that of my family members.

Living healthy is an underrated blessing. Health is expensive, but one won't know until they visit the hospital for a little health challenge and the bill for medication is given to them. You can walk; you can breathe without needing any oxygen tanks; all these are things for which we ought to be grateful because there are people who pay heavily for these things we enjoy for free.

I am grateful for the roof I have over my head.

During my 100-level days, I met a guy who had no place to stay and just gained admission too. He knew nobody and, at the same time, didn't have any money to get himself a place of his own for security reasons, many people did not want him squatting with them, but I explained to my roommates then, and they agreed to let him stay a while. If you are squatting, you do everything possible to not offend those letting you squat with them. Your freedom is limited, and no matter how hard we tried to get him to open up and be free, he was still not willing to do that, and that is when I realized that having your own place is a blessing we hardly speak of.

I can go on and on about things I am grateful for, but let's end here. There are a lot of things to be grateful for, too numerous to mention, you just have to look around you to see some of them, as well as stop expecting every blessing to be monetary.

Thanks for reading my post.

Sort:  

Being at the hospital has a way of making you take a reality check and to appreciate God for life.

Visiting the hospital can make one understand life better, if you see the pain people pass through.

Yes, health is a valuable wealth and a blessing for us. We should take care of this before it late.

Exactly, some people don't value health and take it for granted.

The little things we take for granted are actually the things we ought to be grateful for the most.

You have said it all, a lot of things we see as nothing there is someone out there wishing for it.

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.