Overcoming my fear of public speaking

in HiveGhana29 days ago

Sure, I'm happy to share a challenge I've been working on in my life. One thing I find difficult to do is speaking up in large group settings or public speaking situations. It's something that has always made me feel nervous and anxious, even though I know it's a common fear for many people.


source
For as long as I can remember, I've struggled with speaking confidently in front of others, whether it's giving a presentation in class, speaking at a meeting, or even just participating in group discussions. The thought of all eyes on me and the pressure to articulate my thoughts clearly can be overwhelming at times.

I believe this fear stems from a combination of factors, including a fear of judgment or criticism from others, a lack of self-confidence in my abilities, and a tendency to overthink and second-guess myself. Whatever the reasons may be, it's something that I've been actively working on overcoming.

I was having a discussion with some people and they were like, ain't you a teacher? Why do you find it difficult to speak in a public gathering? I honestly didn't have answer to them, I just smiled.

One of the ways I've been tackling this challenge is by gradually exposing myself to more speaking opportunities and pushing myself out of my comfort zone. For example, I've volunteered to give presentations at work or participate in group discussions during team meetings, even when it feels uncomfortable.

I've also been practicing various public speaking techniques, such as deep breathing exercises to calm my nerves, visualizing successful outcomes before speaking engagements, and rehearsing my speeches or presentations multiple times to build confidence in my delivery.

Another strategy I've found helpful is seeking feedback and constructive criticism from others. By asking trusted friends, colleagues, or mentors for their input on my speaking skills, I've been able to identify areas for improvement and gain valuable insights into how I can become a more effective communicator.

Additionally, I've been working on reframing my mindset and adopting a more positive attitude towards public speaking. Instead of viewing it as something to be feared or avoided, I'm trying to see it as an opportunity for growth and personal development. I remind myself that everyone makes mistakes and that each speaking opportunity is a chance to learn and improve.

Despite these efforts, I still have moments where I feel nervous or self-conscious about speaking in front of others. It's a journey, and progress isn't always linear. But I'm committed to facing this challenge head-on and continuing to push myself outside of my comfort zone.

Ultimately, I believe that by confronting my fear of public speaking and actively working to improve my communication skills, I'll become a more confident and effective communicator in both professional and personal settings. And who knows, maybe one day I'll even enjoy speaking in front of large groups!

Sort:  

Congratulations @vickiee! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 60 posts.
Your next target is to reach 70 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the May edition of the Hive Power Up Month!

I’m a little confused?
You are teacher but you have public speaking fear? So how do you teach your students? I’m kind of curious

Anyway, the important part is that you are putting in measures to become better.

Its with time I started talking to people, I'm working on myself. If I am to speak to people outside of my classroom I can't, it becomes difficult for me.

Alright, I know you’ll get there

Thanks

You’re welcome

You're doing great on this.
I'm still battling with this but I can say, I've outgrown a lot of the flaws.
It's just privileges...
I was once a very commited person in my church at home and I had privileges to preach to crowd on service days.
Those days structured me well and chased away stage fright

I had similar opportunity while growing up though not exactly the same, but I couldn't do it. Then I had jus to left the village to city to stay with my aunt so the children there kept bullying me and all. So it was kind of difficult getting rid of the stage freight, I'm getting better sha.