The Harsh Realities of Adulthood: Navigating Responsibilities and Struggles

in HiveGhanalast month

During childhood, we often fantasize and can't wait to become adults because, to us, adulthood signifies autonomy and freedom. But as time goes on and we finally arrive at the stage, reality dawns on us as we come to realize that there's more to adulthood than that. Now we're met with loads of responsibilities and challenges that seem endless, such as seeking financial freedom, deciding on who to spend forever with, catering for kids, choosing a career path, and the constant inability to strike a balance between personal and work life.

It's funny how ambiguous these challenges have made many wish they could go back to being children, a time when they've got fewer worries and mostly depend on their parents for their needs, when only while they were kids all they ever dreamt of was being an adult. To be honest, being an adult is far from easy. Regardless of your financial status or position in society, one would still be plagued with endless things to get done at any given time.

I'm not an exception; in fact, for me personally at this present stage, I'm so caught up with this downside of adulthood to the point where it affects my health. Sometimes, I even had to put my line on airplane mode so I could have a few hours of peace without having to receive a call or get a text message about something I've got to settle or what others thought I ought to have achieved but haven't as an adult.

I've had to deal with different things that come with adulthood that make life seem hard for an individual. In the aspect of choosing a life partner, there's hardly a week I'm not reminded of the need to get married, or, as far worse, having family and friends recommend a lady to me. This can be annoying sometimes, and it can make me wonder if it's only the married that are seen as being fulfilled in our world today. And even if I want to, one won't just get married to anyone; you definitely need someone with whom you share dreams in common. Jugging with finding that can sometimes be a pain in the ass.

In my career path as a teacher, that aspect is another one of the ways adulthood can be difficult. Teaching in a public school comes with loads of responsibilities. Aside from having to teach over a thousand students, I also have to make sure each understands what I'm teaching. I have personal interactions with those lagging behind, so I can deduce what's wrong and how best to make them understand.

And that's not to talk of the need to cross-check the notes of all those students and as well mark their script during exams, and that isn't even all because, as a teacher, there is far more responsibility to perform than just that, and all of this put together can be cumbersome and break one down like it does to me after each day of work.

Financial burden is another one to battle with as an adult, and I do the same as well. Aside from catering for myself, I've got siblings who look up to me for school fees and stipends and retired parents who at one point or another need my support. All of this put together isn't an easy thing to deal with, especially when you've got your own dreams of probably building a house for your family and the like.

All of this isn't easy to go through, and I for one would certainly want them to be curbed to the lowest minimum in order to have a more peaceful and fulfilled life, and to have that, some of the things I ought to do depend on me, for example, the life partner aspect, but that of career and finances largely depends on the government and my employer. The need to acquire more teachers would give me room to only attend. If the economy of the country is good and I've got good wages, I'll be able to live a better life to a significant degree.

But then I'll keep hoping things improve. Like it's commonly said, when there is life, there is hope, so hoping, working towards achieving all of those, and cultivating a resilient spirit would greatly help me in my bid to make my adulthood a more pleasant and enjoyable moment.


That's about it for now. I hope you had a good read. Do have a wonderful day and stay blessed.


Thumbnail designed on canva


Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

https://inleo.io/threads/vickoly/re-vickoly-2scnzxj4m
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( vickoly ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.