Game Development | Screenshot Saturday

in Game Development3 years ago

Screenshot Saturday 2.jpg

Have a great Screenshot Saturday to all the game developers out there. For those not in the know Screenshot Saturday is something many especially indie game developers partake in on social media during the weekend. This gives them a chance to share with other developers a screenshot from a game they are working on.

It could be rather recent or something you did a couple of months back. Not everything you do every week will necessarily be something you want to share a screenshot of. Most that I have seen in the past choice to showcase concept art to finished world scenes and many things in-between. What you choose to take a screenshot of in your game is up to you.

Instead of doing this on Twitter where it is mostly done (which you can do as well.) I don’t see any reason why this can’t happen on Hive within the Game Development Community for those of us who are here. With there being some Twitter-like platforms now and others in the work perhaps this will move on to something more like that format in the future on our blockchain.

If you are a game developer and wish to partake for fun that is what is being looked for:

  • Take at least 1 screenshot of something you have worked on in your game.

  • Write something short or long that depends on you.

  • Post/cross-post it within the Game Development community.

  • Use the hashtag #screenshotsaturday as one of your first 5 tags.

For those who do not have a Hive account yet as this post will be shared in a few different places. You can create a free account on Hive On Board.

This is meant to be something short and easy for people to do. Not everyone wants to create or read long posts. Making a game is also quite a time-consuming task. Finding time to make a post is not always that easy as well.

I also know others are struggling to find a reason to post about their game or even what they want to talk about. I was gone for a week so I have a lot of time I need to catch up on my own game myself.

Screenshot Saturday 2.png

Have a great Screenshot Saturday. Depending on how this goes if it is liked or not. It might become a monthly or weekly fun thing for the community to do. If not it will be a one-off thing that will be tried again at a much later date.

Information

Screenshots were taken and content was written by @Enjar. Screenshots are from Unreal Engine 4.

Game roadmap.

Sort:  

This gives me the same vibes as being haunted by the work I procrastinated months back and still do. Not really a developer but creating a game has been on one of my plans on the art side rather than the coding. The people I plan on working with are just too busy and everyone just stopped talking about it even more after pandemic sunk in hard.

It's a cool initiative to reflect on the progress of whatever project game devs have been ongoing. I like to see Hive has some frontends that has a similar style with reddit for talks like these.

2D and 3D art from working on a game are more than welcome in this community. Game development involves a lot more than just coding. Heck, there are a lot of game developers in this world that will say they don’t know how to code. Yet, many of them have amazing looking games.

Back in 2019, I tried making a game with a few friends. I was the only one who did anything. After months it becomes quite clear excuses were going to prevent that project from ever getting anywhere.

In 2020 I started fresh over by myself on a different project and within a few days surpassed what an entire group accomplished in a year. Sometimes you just got go for it yourself. I used the pandemic as an excuse to dig deep into it. While so many others did nothing but say they were not getting anything done due to the pandemic!

If you do get inspired to work on a game or want to share something you have done in the past you are more than welcome to make a post about it here. Part of the point of this community is highlighting the different skill sets that are involved in making a game. Who knows a few of you one day might get together and make a game from finding people within the community.

That's inspiring enough to get me a sliver of motivation and I mean that. I'll be adding this community on the subscribed list but not promising much activity anytime soon. I recently started a new line of work as a career choice and things have been bumpy as a rookie (I'm a physician and taking a subspecialization at the moment). I'll use that as an excuse for now until I get my rhythm at work then proceed with working on side projects. Thanks for the invite! :D

Excellent, I look forward to seeing it one day.

When I first started sharing about the game I’m working on many times needing to make content about it was the motivation that week or month to get stuff done in it. Otherwise I would not have a post to make about it!

Hive is a great excuses or a reason for motivation to go out and do something. I have used it quite a few times as such.

I hear you. It got me to push myself to posting daily as soon as I got back to the platform again but eventually burned me out due to other important stuff. Art and trying to use it for game dev has been the end route I'm looking for in this hobby. But I often do self sabotage like procrastinate instead of pushing. I really hope Hive gets more game devs or people into the gaming industry and this community would have frequent multidiscipline posts under the umbrella of game dev one day. Thinking about things long term, if the old blockchain still survives with development lacking, Hive can do that too and even better. The idea that this blockchain will eventually be hosting multiple games and a second layer just makes me bullish about this place and looking at it's future. I learned from dcity that blockchain games are feasible both as an investment and idle entertainment.

At least it's always better to put my money on tokens that buy jpegs for mobile games that stress me out. At least blockchain games have the incentives for kickbacks when you invest in them. If Hive has more of these alternatives, I could only think of a lot of positive possibilities.

There is going be lots to be excited about regarding Hive. There are several games already in development that the developers are not talking about publicly. Many for whatever reason don’t say much till it’s close to launch time.

!ENGAGE 25

If they exposed the teasers, they would be at risk for copy cats and have those intellectual properties copied on another blockchain. I think hidden projects are reasonable as they don't generate hype that may fall from expectations. But it does seem like not much goes on under the ecosystem on the surface. Thank you.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.