You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rigged and Running

in Game Development3 years ago

Glad you like the glow! I am always a sucker for that kind of stuff too so... it will be all over this game haha.

From what I understand, quite a lot of people build their own and then go with rigify once they get the hang of it since they then know what they're doing. If I could figure out how to get the rigify rig to work in the game engine we're using, I'd probably give it more of a shot too. It really does seem pretty nice. But I also kind of like building my own now that I've done it once. 😀

Sort:  

It does help to know what you're doing for when you need to modify the rigs (which will always need to happen unless the only characters you have are the ones that there are existing rigs for XD).

Are you building rigs all the way from the ground up or are you using rigify's parts?

After the add-ons didn't go so well, I built this one from the ground up. Completely. No rigify or other addons for armature or rig. That's why it is ugly I guess. 😂

When it came time to learn how to make the cool shapes and stuff I just decided I was okay with the 'stick' bones.

LoL I was exactly the same. The cool shapes were too much effort XD though I did switch to Rigify after I started bone drivers and decided they were also way too much hard work (there was more maths involved than my meagre brain could cope with x_x)

Haha. Probably going to end up doing the same. I've only done one driver so far. To twist the mid/lower spine half of the spine controller to get the body twist to look more natural. It wasn't too bad.

We're thinking about switching 3D engines. Armory didn't work so well with rigify or auto rig pro. If we switch to an engine that does, I'll probably definitely revisit the add-ons. 😆

Currently looking at Armory still, but also Heaps and Godot. Do not really want to take the Unity or Unreal plunge unless we feel like we have to. But struggling to understand the linking for Armory. And Heaps will just not import the armature for some reason. Godot imported it and in an isolated scene seems fine but when I added him to the main scene his foot gets super stretched out for some reason haha...

Guess we'll see where we end up. It would definitely be nice to be able to use the add-ons but also just wish I could get the hang of one of these engines, even if it means custom building all the rigs.

There will be something obscure in some settings somewhere, probably something you would never have thought would be even remotely relevant XD

Good luck :D

That is always the case. 😂