Experimental tools - Brushgun -o-

in Game Development3 years ago

asfwfw.png

Been really tired these last weeks, the weather is cycling so fast from hot to rain and I'm slumbering about. I have found some time to experiment anyway. While playing around with enemies I found a solu bit stale thetion of always shooting at them, while a classic and very fun I wanted something different to interact with enemies and object. So I made this easy brush like strokes coming out of the cursor part of the player. It's very basic, every time you press the right mouse button the cursor start dripping ink based on the direction of the stroke. It is not infinite but recharge very fast.

I worked on some enemies that can be defeated only by being cut in a half by a brushstroke and while working it need some sprite work to making it feel that you have diced them.

So I made as in the video to be able to paint on white squares and using it to summon or create instances.

The problem I need to solve next is how to make the engine understand at wich stage the summoning is complete so for now I have this set up that tells when the inkable objects are in their black phase and proceed then to create the next event. I made another duplicate of this item that dosen't influence the the global.inked variable but it dosent make for a nice solution for eventual puzzle. The next step is to add an eraser function to the cursor and then a better way to make the game recognize the symbol asked to be drawn.

Have a nice weekend :D

sadf.png

afwff.png

Sort:  

The weather is getting so nice here it’s hard to want to say in doors.

Glad you found some time and energy to keep working on things.