You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Announcement | Game Development Community

in Game Development3 years ago

Great idea and hopefully it leads to more development and more activity around the gaming sector here.

I for one would love somebody to start making simple builds that are fun and addictive with results posted to the blockchain but run as normal apps.

Lives and powerups can be nft's with an open market.
A simple arcade/ mobile app with 20 games like tetris, word puzzles, ect...
Or a suite of different single games that interconnect through the same nft's which can be bought or sold between games.
Battle against other players for hive/hive based token prizes. Ads or micro purchases fund tournaments and it gets addictive very fast.

Who wouldn't want to play addictive mobile apps with real prizes for winning games.

Thundercore have done a great job visualizing what i have talked about before but the execution is very poor with a buggy mobile app and built on ethereum which has a slow and terrible performance. Built on hive it could have been amazing. Either way they are growing fast as the idea is very good. I still love to play the games and wager/ win tokens.

https://dapps.thundercore.com/

Sometimes simple is better. I will join just to watch out for new progress and concepts anyway. I love seeing new games being built from the ground up.

Sort:  

I do hope we get all kinds of different developers. Hive has not even scratched the surface yet on the simpler side of gaming and meeting those market needs. We also do need some larger games in development. More or less everything is needed.

I have no plans to develop for mobile at this time myself. Due to their walled gardens, I expect them to go after cryptocurrency games in general at some point. Mobile companies don’t like it when things sell under the table without them getting their 35% cut or higher.

I’m sure mobile companies will have a field day when they find out players are selling items for insane amounts of money in some instances and they got $0 from that sale. As we have seen when big tech decides you are done you are done unless you pay them to make up for it.

I suspect one day I’ll need a game launcher for several games I hope to be making over the next few decades. I am planning in my first game for certain special end game items to be “universe” items that will have some kind of purpose in other games I make moving forward. To what end is hard to say for now.