You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It Feels Good to be Creating Again! | BYOND Game Development

I love procedural generation. I'll be using it for as much as possible with this game. You won't always craft swords of the same strength until you're a master, loot that drops from enemies will all be randomly named and with different attributes diablo-style 😁

Not only does procedural generation save me the hassle of hard coding every single item in the game, it gives me more content than I could ever create if I had! Searching for a particular weapon and having to collect more than one to find the "perfect form" gives players extra goals to accomplish without the game ever really pushing them in that direction.

I'll definitely post more about this as I flesh out more of the game. I'm working on the inventory now, and once I have a little more to show I'll write a new post.