Opening an Obsidian Flames Trainer Box

in Trading Cards!8 months ago

Been a while since I've opened some Pokemon packs so figured it was time and might make for a good post. I had my assistant girlfriend do the opening while recording it with her camera for better quality.

With the trainer box comes on guaranteed rare card which in this case was the charmander and then some dumb stuff like badges and dice for some reason. The main thing I was looking after was of course the packs, with the box you get 9 booster packs which I believe include an extra holo compared to regular booster packs of this edition but please correct me if I'm wrong.

Anyway, I'll let you guys watch the video, feel free to increase speed on the youtube settings. We decided not to talk over this one as I frankly didn't have much of an idea of what to expect or what was rare and did some research afterwards, the rarest one I think was selling for like $3. xD

Hope you enjoy the opening and the quality of the video, might try my hand at some macro photography of some of the good looking cards in future posts as that got quite some traction when I shared the post over on Reddit through @redditposh.

Sending part of the post rewards to @hiddenblade for the help and equipment to create this video. Or like youtubers like to say:

"This video was made possible thanks to our sponsors @hiddenblade"


Sort:  

With the trainer box comes on guaranteed rare card which in this case was the charmander and then some dumb stuff like badges and dice for some reason

Just so you know in case you ever decide to open Sword and Shield elite trainer boxes, the included promo is a new thing they're doing for Scarlet and Violet era sets, and is not included with anything pre this year (Though, some special sets give you a promo in the past as well). Also, the dice and badges are for people who play the actual TCG competitively. ETB's are more geared towards people who play the game as are build and battle kits/stadiums.

9 booster packs which I believe include an extra holo compared to regular booster packs of this edition but please correct me if I'm wrong.

So, Scarlet and Violet era pokemon has changed MRSP prices, and to offset that balance you are guarenteed 3 "holo" cards in every single booster pack of Scarlet and Violet sets. So, you will get 2 reverses and 1 holo in every pack, doesn't matter which Scar & Vio set you're opening or what product it's from.

Also, ouch. This ETB was absolutely ass pull rate wise. I would definitely recommend buying a booster box in the future if you want to rip something as they are soft seeded with pulls in this new generation of the TCG. It's way more fun than ripping an ETB and getting barely anything, and honestly ETB's go for $40 on average which is almost half the price of a booster box (And, remember a booster box has 36 packs versus 9 with an ETB) on ebay or through an online LCS.

How safe is it to order from ebay, btw?

It's easy to order from ebay, but I would only order from sellers that have very large amounts of feedback. Like, one seller in particular is pfootballpete4dhx, he's got a direct line to Pokemon and gets insane volume of product and usually has fair prices and sometimes can have some crazy deals. I've ordered from him a few times over the past year. Like, if you take a look at a shop and they have thousands of positive feedback with little to no negative and primarily deal in cards, then I would say you're good to go.

If you're opening modern product, the chances of what you open being resealed are slim as fuck. Most people only want to reseal high end product or packs, not random shit that you can find at Walmart any day of the week. Like, what you opened is going to be sitting on LCS and retail stores shelves for months without moving fast, it takes a lot of time and effort to do a reseal that actually looks semi legit. There's not a sane person on the planet who would bother wasting so much time for a cheap product, especially one that has nothing insane to pull out of it either. The only place I've ever seen people have issues with in regards to opening modern product is Amazon, and that's because they have a dumb return policy and let people return opened product and then try to sell it as new.

Eek. Some people are good at resealing. Do you research... I wouldn't do it myself.

There are some specialized shops that sell for less if you pre-order though. Or if you buy 2 get one half price type of stuff. That's what I do anyway.

Oh this was so much fun to watch, I love watching pack opening videos, double fun when it comes to Pokemon! I don't know most of the Pokemon here because I'm mostly familiar with the first series. Charmander looks awesome man! It's my favorite Pokemon. Other than that, I think the strongest Pokemon was Melmetal. Which one were you most happy to see, even if you didn't know their rarity?

You should go for booster boxes instead of ETBs imho.

Nowadays ETBs are geared towards people that buy and sell stuff without ever opening them. Like if you buy a etb, you resell that same box twice the price a year later.

I'm more of a card collector like you seem to be, so maybe check out Boosters instead and save some money.

Nice pull on the ex btw. It's pretty nice!

kk will be looking for booster packs next, unfortunately it seems they don't sell boxes in full here in my location so will have to settle for individual packs instead. Good thing with that is that I can get some different kind of packs rather than just the latest ones.

Yeah it's just that booster boxes cost less than individual packs...

Very nice, I like the Pokemon TCG, but here in my country, it's very expensive to buy cards. Only one store here in the city works with official sales My Gengar arrived home on Thursday, it is very well made!!!

Yooo that was super cool. The video quality was great! I could watch this all day long lol. Keep em coming!

More sponsorship coming @hiddenblade?

Should be :P

That was really cool! You didn't do too badly. I haven't bought Pokemon cards in quite a few years since my son was younger but I have tons of them still.

The Melmetal is a nice find!

Yeah think it was the only ex in the packs:D

You weren't lucky 😞

What a cool video 📸 I think hive users should support each others channels I mean not like forcing people to watch each others channel that is if they enjoy the content then of course if they don't enjoy it can always put on mute on YouTube but subscribe to them just for that small support.

I can't remember when I bought my last Pokémon card the only thing I can remember me and my brother was collecting NBA player cards (mostly he collects) it was fun times.

Wow, I think this is my first time seeing an unboxing of a trainer box. I didn't know it comes with a lot of neat things with it apart from the packs. It's been ages since I've last played pokemon cards, and even then I didn't really know which cards had more value than others; I just played. Sorry to hear that you didn't get a high value from these. I hope they still go up in value in time though.

Haha yeah trying to save some in sleeves just in case :D

If this was a limited edition, then the charmander could increase in value over time. Goodluck.

I didn't know he was a pokemon fan, although of course now his profile picture on hive and his banner at the end of every post, with a meow, makes more sense.

It was fun to see your unboxing, thanks for sharing the video and the post. Regards @acidyo.

It was nice to see this opening :) Charmander Promo Card looks very beautiful 😍

What a memory you recalled to me.
I was trying to play Pokemon cards too and then Magic BUT my budget has always been so low that I could just buy a few cards here and there so I never got to a decent level in both of the games.

But I loved Pokemon game onto Game-boy and later I also installed it onto an emulator onto the laptop I had at the university to play pokemon Gold :D

I feel old looking at these Pokemon cards, so out of touch with them already! 😅

Love the soundtrack you have that is accompanying the pack opening. The video really take me back to the time when I was still playing Pokemon TCG or any TCG to be fair. The pack opening moments are definitely exciting each time! 😁

You should be a hand model, ser.

Some decent pulls!

Are you into Lorcana?

What's that? :D

It's like pokemon cards and seems like a lot of people are getting into it and enjoying it for the gameplay. Seems to be all Disney characters. I only know of it because a few of my friends kept going to the store trying to buy them over the last week and they have been sold out lol

I like collecting and playing card games. pokemon cards look really good, i might start collecting again some time. Thank you for sharing this post!

In my notifications was a notification that you followed me. But I can't see you among my followers. If you don't mind me asking: did you unfollow me? And if so why?

I followed and am following you cause when I took a look at your account the other day it seemed a bit underrewarded imo.

Do you compete in tourneys? Or just collect cards?

Just collecting

Hmm
That's amazing
Games with players guides are top notch
Keep it up!
Nice video!