Checking Out Some Nice Hits! Pokemon TCG

in Trading Cards!2 years ago

The wife was busy making a new deck so let's check out some of our good pulls.

20220416_200549.jpg

Annotation 2022-04-16 234541.png

First up is our Charizard VSTAR foil card from the Sword and Shield Brilliant Stars set. It is the most recent set of cards to release for the Pokémon Trading Card Game and it was a big joy to pull an amazing card from this set. Checking TCGPlayer reveals this card's modest value. The price on TCGPlayer is that of an ungraded card, so they often do not command the top dollar that can come from having your card slabbed up with a PSA stick on top. A PSA 10 Charizard VSTAR #17 goes for around $225 USD.

There are several Charizard's to collect in this set, and we hope to Catch 'Em All!

20220416_200104.jpg

Annotation 2022-04-16 234733.png

Slightly different, and of lesser value is this super cool Volcanion EX Secret Rare from the X/Y Steam Siege set, printed in 2016. My wife found the Steam Siege booster packs on a shelf in the hobby shop of Iqaluit, Nunavut while on a business trip. It was a wonderful surprise for us since we were both itching to open more packs after our massive opening a month ago.

I really like the Xerneas artwork behind Volcanion's shoulder. It is something of a staple in the series as far as my research suggests, and the "sister card" featuring Xerneas will have Volcanion in the background. I very well could be wrong about this though, as we do not have a Xerneas EX card of similar vintage and rarity to compare it to. Oh well. Consider it a random goal to work towards?

Now, for something really shiny!

20220416_200728.jpg

Annotation 2022-04-16 234521.png

Another card worth around $225 USD in PSA 10 Gem-Mint quality is the Arceus VSTAR card. Unfortunately for us, our card is off-center a little bit and would not be graded as a "10" in quality, so it's not worth anywhere near that. But it is still one of the most expensive cards in the set regardless of quality.

The abilities on this card make it highly sought after for tournament play from what I've seen in YouTube videos on the subject. We have collected a fair bit of "V" cards to use at later dates, but due to their rarities we do not have enough duplicates to bother putting any in our decks.

Plus, the only asses we have to kick are each other's.

20220416_195849.jpg

Annotation 2022-04-16 234556.png

Another one of our super fancy cards is the Cheren's Care Rainbow Rare. The way my wife and I play makes this card more of a "binder queen" if you will. One of those fancy cards you have to catch people's eye but nothing more than that. I like the rainbow rare collections and hope to collect a few more. This card has a strange concentric circle pattern to it, so you are not seeing fingerprint smudges on the card, that's a texture on the card itself.

Anyway, I should wrap this up now. She's done building her deck and giving me those angry eyes as she shuffles her cards aggressively.

[Edit Prior to posting] I saved the post as a draft while we battled because I wasn't quite ready to post it just yet. Turns out she wasn't giving me angry eyes, it was evil eyes. Because her new deck is downright nasty and she knew it! My backside is sore!

Find my artwork for sale exclusively on NFTShowroom.com
Find my photographs of Nunavut scenery and Wildlife on Lensy.io
Follow me on twitter here: Hive Related Account / Photography and Art Account
I am also on Instagram: But only Photography and Art
More art on DeviantArt at: Ice-O-Lated

FxX5caie56ynwsjysm2XuNozdMysq1YNDRbt9X9VeerNm1981Q9QbBMDAvYrEjJ67Z3EpbrLRdsnBevZ2F6H5WcoSPwRUixeZ8mPnXPDCwCS.png

Sort:  

So lucky to find steam boosters! Great pulls, throw me some luck 😅😅