My Experience Grading and Selling Sports Cards

Below is a portion of an Excel file I created to track the costs associated with grading my cards and selling them. Either on E-Bay or through PWCC Marketplace an on-line auction house. There are some different costs and other logistics that make this option quite different from selling raw cards yourself on E-Bay.

About 3 years ago I decided to try and start selling some of my vintage sports cards I took out of the packs nearly 50 years ago. I decided to go with PSA since they seemed to command a higher value for vintage cards. After much research I decided on two of my cards that depending on the grade they received might return a pretty good sales price.


Here are the cards after being graded and returned. So now that I have incurred "Ship to PSA" and "PSA Grade/Return" costs, I am ready to list the cards. These two I decided to sell myself and payed the normal E-Bay/Paypal plus shipping costs. Some of the other graded cards in the list I paid for shipping and sent to PWCC. PWCC then takes a percentage of the final E-Bay sales price and they ship the card to the buyer.

Overall it was a good experience and I was fairly happy with the results. You do need to learn some things about how cards are graded and be realistic about what grade you might get on the card. Unless I had a really pristine valuable card I'm not sure I would grade it. Too much shipping cards around, long turnaround times, and the unknown factor of what kind of grade they will receive will probably just keep me selling my collection in the raw state. 😀

Feel free to leave any comments or questions.

Thanks for reading and have a great day!

All images and content were created by me, @tukes-mtn-ent, except where noted.