Allotment Diaries: 6th September 2020

in 500 Words a day4 years ago (edited)

This is part of a weekly (or fortnightly if I'm lacking content) series about owning an allotment. Click here for the Introduction Post. I am NOT a keen gardener, so this series will be telling tales of stuff I learn as the season’s progress. Hopefully you find it interesting, you might find some of it useful, and if you have any comments, questions or even better, some useful tips to share, then please add them below

This post is an entry to the Hive Community Garden Journal Challenge run by @simplymike. This is the first time I have entered, and if you want to join in with this competition as well, then check This Post for more information!

As part of managing our allotment we are still trying to clear the ground ready for use (it was out of use for 4 years before we acquired it... there are A LOT of weeds...

IMG_1316.jpg

In the Allotment Diaries post I wrote Last Week I mentioned clearing away a large area of Brambles. In the middle of the picture you might be able to spot a grey-green piece of carpet...

IMG_1317.jpg

Apparently this was put down to stop weeds growing... not only was it a complete waste of time, but it has made clearing the ground so much harder. Today we went back to tackle this and clear some more ground ready for planting next year.

_MG_0031.JPG
Carpet dug up, and moved out of the way

_MG_0030.JPG
Thats Better! Now to clear those Bramble Roots...

_MG_0034.JPG

The whole area had been covered by Brambles (Rubus fruticosus), which had grown quite happily through the carpet. After clearing most of the plants out of the way and getting rid of the last of the carpet, we were left with these 'root stumps'. Is that a real term? I don't know...

These are gonna take a while to dig out. The problem with plants like these is that they spread so easily. Both the branches and roots will spread out to create new plants

_MG_0039.JPG

This shows what I'm up against. The roots are surprisingly long, and go out in all directions, so it'll take a fair bit of effort to dig them out...

_MG_0036.JPG

_MG_0035.JPG

_MG_0052.JPG

After a couple of hours work, the patch of ground is clear. I have got all the big clumps of roots out, but there will still be bits of root left behind. I'll be keeping an eye on it over the winter, and then in Spring next year it will be ready for planting

Bonus wildlife

The bonus for this week is this beautiful Garden Orb Weaver (Araneus diadematus). These are very common here, and are most often seen in Late Summer and Early Autumn. Seeing this gorgeous female today is a reminder that the seasons are progressing fast. I can't believe how fast this year has gone.

_MG_0045.JPG
Garden Orb Weaver - Araneus diadematus

Hiveblog divider.png

Thank you for reading, I hope you found it interesting.

If you have any thoughts or opionions on this article then I'd love to see your comments.
And if you really like the content then maybe you would like to upvote or re-hive it.

logofooter.JPG

All Photos taken by @dannewton unless otherwise stated.
Check out my website for more of my work.

Facebook - Instagram - 500px - Redbubble

Hiveblog divider.png

Sort:  

Hi @dannewton,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Thanks for joining!!

Oh, does brambles are a real pain to get rid off. I dug out a plant in our garden last year and the year before, and it just keeps coming back. I guess I missed some roots every time.

Yep, I'm gonna have to be extra vigilant over the next 6 months to try and keep on top of them!

Wish me Luck (I'll flippin' need it!)