You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I stopped curating poetry on hive & why I want to start back again (500wordsaday)

in 500 Words a day4 years ago

Thank you, and I agree. I like the idea of comments being a currency. I also like the idea of quality over quantity. Removing direct monetary rewards creates a freedom factor that mitigates a lot of issues with this blockchain.

Sort:  

I agree, but it just occurred to me, I think it might be a broader human nature thing as well. A few years back, I belonged to a Facebook group devoted to bloggers supporting bloggers by commenting on posts, RTing, liking FB pages, and such.

The group eventually disbanded because so many people joined & just did the, "link drop" thing because they were looking to boost their stats, which soon overwhelmed the genuine supporters. However, I'm still in touch with many of the original members, and we still support each other - the Hive community reminds me of those genuine folk on many levels.