The Fake Theory Of Happiness

Sam wrote self-help books, ways of living a happy life was his major theme. His last book sold well and gave him a little bit of fame, so for his fans he made t-shirts with a print of Budha on the back. It was called a happy life t-shirt.


elijahmhendersonjRAyoDL68Munsplash_20200621151137555.jpgphoto by Elijah M. Henderson/unsplash


He is talking a walking evening wearing the happy life t-shirt, the thoughts for a new book is in his mind. He is totally stressed out, he has already used most part of the income from the last book. Now it's just a few dollars left to live a normal life, no more luxuries.

The one who teaches the ways to live happy life was sad in the evening. He was thinking about how it all started, he started from copying the words of legends and twisted it to something simple and easily understandable by common people. He wasn't even happy while writing it.

"Hey Sam", a voice called him from back.

He looked back, His eyes stumbled in with the beauty of her. He could see both happiness and some kind of sorrow in her face.

"Hi" by her attitude he knew that she was a fan of him. So he shared a fake smile.

"I'm a fan of your's, my boyfriend was a big fan of your books, he was always talking about your words."

"Was!!!, what happened to him now?", Sam asked with the confusion.

"He died in an accident last month. The only thing left of his memory was your book. I always keep that with me. That's the thing which gives me the inspiration to live more" She started moaning after she said that.

That was something he wasn't expecting. He felt uncomfortable, he always knew that he was fooling people with his words. Now, this was something that hurts him more.

He walked towards her. How can she be happy in this situation by just reading the a book, when the writer himself is not happy with his little financial issues.

"Don't Cry, just accept the fact that the death of someone you love hurts, you have every right to be sad. But be okay after all these." He didn't even know where those words came from.

"But you told in the book that you could be happy in any situation" she looked at his face with some kind of hope that he will change his statement.

There was silence between them. After taking a breath.

"That was a lie, the whole book is a lie. Real-life is not much of happy moments. I'm sorry please burn that book." Even that was a bit awkward he was relaxed after saying it.

She stared at his face for a few moments and walked away. After that day nobody has seen Sam. He flew without giving a trace, he didn't write anything after that.

[THE END]



Sort:  

Congratulations @badfinger! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I love this story.
The internal conflict shown was nicely done.
The more I read the more I wanted to know the character.
It's just beautiful writing.

thank you @inuke.These feedbacks are the one's which give the inspiration to write more.

I am following you but not sure why your posts are not appearing on my feed. Thanks to @sayee twitter I got to know about.

And I am looking forward to read more such stories from you :-)

ohh.
I heard sayee saying that you write stories. Always waiting to see your works too

Yes I love writing stories. But many a times even I don't feel satisfied with what I wrote so after writing say 1000-1200 word I would simply save the draft or delete it entirely.

Pata nahi kya chahta hain mera dimaag bhi. :-)

The same happens for me also, eventually I started posting even the one's which are not that much good.

If I don't publish any—I will usually ended up in not writing for a while.

If I don't publish any—I will usually ended up in not writing for a while.

Maybe, I should try this.
Of course a story not told is a story wasted.

Loading...