Too many meetings will kill your productivity!

This GIF explains perfectly how I felt at my last job. I would spend almost 8 to 10 hours a day in the office in meetings. I felt trapped by it and then I would have to go to my work after my 8 to 10 hours of meetings. I remember one day close to when I was about to quitwhen I had a meeting that started at 7:30 AM. And then I had a meeting every hour of the day until 5 PM. The 5 PM meeting ended up going till 8:30 PM.

During this time my productivity went to zero.

enter my new job. We only have meetings on Monday with management. The executives only go to meetings if it’s absolutely necessary for them to be there. We have one team meeting a week and the rest the time we just spend working. It’s crazy how much more I can get done with my small team at this new job versus my huge team at my old job.

I’ve been really thinking about this as I’ve listened to a book called the dichotomy of leadership. He was talking about a CEO in this book that took all the decisions upon himself, and he had to meet with people all day every day to make those decisions. So the author of the book talk to him about handing out those responsibilities and cutting out meetings. This is something that my current boss and the current leadership at my company is very good at.

the book I’m reading is from Jocko Willick. He was a navy seal and a leader in the seals. I’ve liked his other book called extreme ownership, but as I’ve started this one this weekend, I feel like he does a better job of explaining leadership principles in this book.

go check out his podcast if you want to see what it’s like listening to his book. He’s in a very intense reader.

the reason why this post came about was because I was asked to review my boss this weekend and provide him feedback both in positive and negative aspects. Historically this has been hard for me to do and I usually just give my boss positive feedback. But I have a better relationship with this Boston. I’ve had with any of my others and I feel like I can give them both positive and negative.

random post for Easter Sunday. But I hope y’all have a happy Easter as well.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Meetings are unproductive and almost always a waste of time and productivity... How are you doing?

agreed. What a waste if time.

I forgot which company it was, but they would actually calculate out the cost of the meeting based on an hourly rate every one was paid, who all would be in the meeting and how long it would last. It was eye opening, to say the least.

I like that. I think when anyone calls a meeting, they should have to put on how much it’s gonna cost the company to hold that meeting. I might even bring it up with my boss.

It's a great way to visualize if what needs to be said can be sent out as a PowerPoint, email, or recorded and watched later.

The work was really taking your time and that’s why I had to quit my present job even though I’d have to wait so I can be replaced which won’t exceed a month
It’s crazy how companies want you to spend your whole day doing their work and will leave you completely less creative go yourself
They drain people a lot

There is a lot of companies who only want to use and use you to get the result they want. They don't really care what you want