A Heartfelt Reflection on Time and Loss

Hello everyone,
Welcome to my blog once again. This is my response to the mayinleo prompt for today, it is a beautiful topic I really want to share my ideas on.
Growing up I've heard that time flies and it has no respect for anybody. I can relate to that. Looking back at my childhood, the experience I've got and how time has changed things. I can't forget the day my cousin became motherless. It felt like a daydream to me, I thought it was a nightmare and I wish I couldn't wake up. One moment, I and my family were eagerly awaiting the arrival of a new family member, I was full of fear and happiness at the same time and the next thing we heard was the devastating news that my aunt had passed away during childbirth. It was a day that changed our lives forever.

image.pngsource

Time indeed does change because we all were anticipating welcoming a new life in the family and happiness quickly turned into a tragedy that none of us could have foreseen. It didn't even take up to a second for our faces to change from joy to sadness. My aunt, who was a beautiful, vibrant and loving woman, was gone in an instant like in a twinkle of an eye, leaving behind a newborn who would never know her mother's touch, voice, or warmth embrace. The emotional shock of her sudden death was overwhelming, and the grief that followed was so much for me to bear because she was so dear to me. I had imagined being a big sis carrying my baby around anywhere I go but time changes everything.

A Wish to Turn Back Time

I've watched movies where people travel back into the past and change things. How I wish that if I could go back in time, I would do everything in my power to save my aunt, yes even if it was for me to donate blood, when I replay that day in my mind I keep on thinking about what could have been done differently. Perhaps, with more knowledge or different medical attention, she could have survived, maybe just maybe the story would have been different. This longing desire in me to alter the past is a natural response to loss, that is moved by love and a deep sense of what could have been done differently.

The death of my aunt brought a ripple effect on my entire family. My cousin became motherless from the very moment she was born, that very minute she started to face the future without the woman who gave her life. My uncle on the other hand was left to go through the challenges of parenthood alone, if not for close relatives who came in and helped. He was just mourning his wife while trying to stay strong for his daughter. Our extended family came around him. Every single person tried offering support and love, but the void left by my aunt's absence was deep and irreplaceable.

Reflections on Time
Time is a curious and inexorable factor. It moves forward effortlessly, it has no respect for anything or anything and no matter how much we wish and imagine we could rewind it even if doing that is for the good, we are bound by its onward movement. The pain of losing someone so suddenly makes me acutely aware of time's preciousness. I keep on every single day of my life fantasizing about time travel, not just to visit different eras, but to correct the moments where life took a devastating turn and a precious one from me. Well I know for sure that I can't change the past, but I keep honoring the memory of those I have lost. My aunt's legacy lives on in my heart also in her daughter. Each day I see her I can still remember what my aunt looks like, in the stories we share in my family, and in the love that continues to bind our family together. Through our grief, we find strength in each other, and in the hope that we can cherish and protect the lives that are still with us.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha