Friday Files - Good Friday

It was my usual Friday, and a good one, in more ways than one. Although it was especially long because Daisy hasn't recovered her brain. Saving for Doris Bosch is a priority.



Anyway, it the final chore was portioning the pickled fish (an excellent batch even if I say so, myself) after cutting and wrapping cheese, making koeksisters and the two batches of sourdough rolls.



I had been concerned about these because I hadn't been able to start them on Thursday. And yesterday was cool which affects the proving.



Oh and mother had a slightly different treatment this week. Which worked. I know I have to write about this journey. Especially as it started exactly a year ago this week.



All done and then a bredie (butternut and lamb neck stew) into to warm for when we returned from the local.

Good Friday and a little contribution on a Saturday to @gvkanten's Food Friday!

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa

Photo: Selma







Post Script

  • Twice a year Traci York hosts a challenge to bloggers to post daily for a month. I've participated (or tried) for three years I've known her via the blockchain. Twice I've succeeded. It's that time of the year again, and I'm giving it a go - on the Hive blockchain. Wordpress bloggers are also invited to participate.


Source: Traci York

  • In search of English writing, research and editing services?
    Look no further: I will help you with writing emails and reports, academic and white papers formal grammar, spelling and punctuation
    more information here.
  • If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:
    • re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I plan to add them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
    • and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts.
  • I blog to the Hive blockchain using a number of decentralised appplications. From Wordpress, I use the Exxp Wordpress plugin. If this rocks your socks, click on the image below to sign up -

Image: @traciyork
  • I also share my occasional instagram posts to the crypto blockchain using the really nifty phone app, Dapplr. On your phone, click the icon below, and give it a go.

Posted using Dapplr

Sort:  

#MarketFriday has been survived the pandemic and has been presented in so many unusual ways, along with more common ones. This, of course, adds more charm to the mixing bowl. The challenge points out our differences, but, then, it also shows many things our cultures share. When the day is done, it shows off how human we all are and how we basically all care about our families and others. We embrace each other as humans.

I love the experience of it all. I appreciate the love and support given to #MarketFriday! Thank you! Truly! Your participation adds a piece of your world, and I have to say, people are interested in is seeing it. This entire challenge has opened up the world to me and so many others. Thank you again for being a part of all this! I am so happy to see you here! I hope you have a fabulous day! Hive on!!

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:

How to Participate:

Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, clothing, plant, or animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo, an art auction, and restaurants. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for any kind of service.
Take pictures! Be creative! It’s fun!
Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
Post the picture.(s)
Don’t forget to use the MarketFriday Community #196308 to post from or hashtag it! #MarketFriday by @dswigle If you hashtag it, drop the link to your post here so I can easily find them.

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and reposted

Wow, a whole year since the arrival of mother? Strange that it seems like only yesterday, yet also about a million years ago too. Sending good behavior thoughts to Daisy.

The first mothers didn't come to much. Ursula was my third attempt!

Thank you for wishing Daisy well. She needs them 😱

Sign me up for the Bredie please!
I went vegan today (yesterday), but that's cause it's "tradition" not to eat meat on Good Friday.

Thanks for using the tag, who knows, it night catch on 😃

I hope it does. That bredie is so easy. Somewhere on my blog is a recipe. I need to look at your posts. I am having laptop challenges 😱😱😱

Everything revealed on your table so traditional for Easter weekend, only one missing is hot-cross buns, Oh so South African!

Hope you relaxing now on Easter Sunday!

Not quite, Joan! We did have hot cross buns but I didn't take any pictures. I might fish out my photos from last year. Because it was Friday, and it was a long kitchen day, it was a working brunch. They were hot and with butter and camembert...

Pickled fish is to be our dinner this evening - it's a sweltering autumn day. I am not looking forward to winter!!

Doubt anyone ever forgets the hot-cross buns.

Been a lovely day here, my brother said sunrise service on the beach was exquisite. Sure all the visitors enjoyed the beach with no wind and reasonably warm at 29 deg C.

All the food looks wonderful, spending a day in the kitchen not much fun, rewarded with the weekend off and all preparation done ahead.

I am looking forward to winter 😁

!WINE

!WINE


Cheers @fionasfavourites, Thank You For Inviting @joanstewart To A Glass Of WINE.
At The Moment You Don't Have Enough WINE Staked To Order A Glass Of WINE From @wine.bot.
Please Refill Your Barrels By Directly Buying WINE From Marketplace & Make Sure You Have Atleast 25.00 WINE In Staked Wallet.

wine-greeting
Total Purchase : 24845.318 WINE & Last Price : 0.290 HIVE
HURRY UP & GET YOUR SPOT IN WINE INITIAL TOKEN OFFERING -ITO-


WINE Current Market Price : 0.270 HIVE


Congratulations, @joanstewart You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @fionasfavourites.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/1 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting
Total Purchase : 24845.318 WINE & Last Price : 0.290 HIVE
HURRY UP & GET YOUR SPOT IN WINE INITIAL TOKEN OFFERING -ITO-


WINE Current Market Price : 0.270 HIVE